Celebrating Frank Keefe

Celebrating Frank Keefe

Photo Gallery



NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Over 500 alumni and friends of Yale Swimming descended upon New Haven this past weekend to celebrate the retirement of the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Director of Swimming, Frank Keefe.  It was an incredible sign of the impact Keefe has had in his 32 years of coaching at Yale.

The weekend began with a gathering at Yorkside Pizza on Friday evening with 150 people crowding the long-standing establishment.  Special thanks to Tony and George of Yorkside for opening their doors to this large group!  The event continued with an incredibly full day on Saturday, including an open swim for all former swimmers.  Keefe coached his final workout and it was great to see such a large group take part.  After the workout, a cocktail reception opened the Kiphuth Fellowship Public Lecture delivered by Keefe.

The evening culminated with a standing room only dinner in Commons Dining Hall where a number of speakers shared their thoughts about swimming for Keefe.  Dave Andriole ’86 served as master of ceremonies and led the spirited group through the evening.  The other speakers for the evening included: 

George Breen – Former University of Pennsylvania Coach

Judith Grote Deedy ‘92

Scott Dickinson '85

Ray Essick – US Swimming

Jeremy Fain '99

Jack Hutchinson '07

Kristin Krebs-Dick ‘93

Katrina Lundstedt '92

Moira McCloskey '07

Homer Meade '87

Phil Moriarty – Former Yale Coach
Josh Woodruff '92

In addition to the speakers, three special gifts were bestowed upon Coach Keefe.  First, John Lapides ’72, President of the Yale Swimming & Diving Association, and Melanie Ginter ’78 presented a portrait painted by Gerry York ’81.  The portrait will hang in the Kiphuth Trophy Room along-side famed Yale Coaches Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty.  Second, Todd Kaplan ’86 and Jon Sharp ’83 gave Frank a photo book compilation that included pictures of all his teams and memories of his 32 years of coaching. 

Lastly, and perhaps most exciting, was when Director of Athletics, Tom Beckett, and Frank’s first captain, Sue Wellington ’81, came to the stage to honor the Coach with the Kiphuth Medal.  One of the highest awards presented by Yale Athletics, the Kiphuth Medal recognizes, men and women distinguished in the fields of physical training, sport, sports writing, physiology, literature and the arts to visit the Yale campus. Previous Kiphuth Medal recipients include Arthur Ashe, A. Bartlett Giamatti '60, Joan Benoit Samuelson, George Mitchell, Carm Cozza and Dick Ebersol. Both Beckett and Wellington made it abundantly clear that Frank’s role as a mentor and coach put him in equal company as the other distinguished recipients of the Medal. 

Special thanks to the event’s planning committee for making this such a wonderful evening.  The planning committee included:

Todd Kaplan ‘86
Katie Hazelwood ‘86
Jon Sharp ‘83
Mark Loftis ‘83
David Andriole ‘86
Josh Woodruff ‘93
Kristin Krebs-Dick ‘93
Kate Ivers ‘99
Moira McCloskey '07


Frank Keefe image by John Lapides