No. 3 Bulldogs Sail Across New England

Christopher Segerblom and Elizabeth Brim (Photo by Glennon Stratton).
Christopher Segerblom and Elizabeth Brim (Photo by Glennon Stratton).

Bulldogs Gear Up For Strong Final Month of the Fall

NEW HAVEN, Conn.—The No. 3 Yale coed sailing team will look to carry the momentum from last weekend's victory at Navy into the final month of the season, starting with the Sherman Hoyt Trophy at Brown, the Oberg Trophy at MIT and the Boston College Invitational this weekend. Capturing the Navy Fall Intersectional last weekend was a confidence boost for the Bulldogs, but the team will look to build off of that victory and prove that last weekend was the norm rather than a fluke.

One team of Bulldogs will travel to the Sherman Hoyt Trophy hosted by Brown on the Narragansett Bay in Cranston, R.I. Like the Long Island Sound, Yale's home waters, Narragansett Bay can offer a wide variety of conditions which often leads to very exciting sailing. The Brown venue is at the top of the Bay on the Providence River and is situated about 3.5 miles south of downtown Providence. Sailing will be conducted in a fleet of 420s.

Last year, the Bulldogs were limited to one day of rather frustrating sailing at the Hoyt. Saturday brought big breeze that allowed for heavy crews to sub in but Sunday was windless, preventing further sailing and a chance for the Bulldogs to fight back.

The Bulldogs will send a large team to accommodate all types of breeze. Senior captain Joseph Morris and sophomore Chris Segerblom will skipper for the Bulldogs. Yale will bring crews senior Isabel Elliman, junior Zachary Foreman, freshman Katherine Gaumond and junior Heather May.

The current forecast is for five to 10 knots for both Saturday and Sunday, but there is plenty of time for that to change.

Another team of Bulldogs will travel to Cambridge, Mass., for the three-division Oberg Trophy hosted by MIT on the puffy and shifty Charles River, which will be bustling as the Head of the Charles crew regatta is also this weekend. The Oberg Trophy is awarded to the top team from Greater Boston but the regatta is open to all of the Northeastern teams. Racing will be conducted in both FJs and MIT's famous tech dinghies.

Yale will send skippers freshman Graham Landy, sophomore Max Nickbarg and senior Rob Struckett with crews sophomores Anna Han and Amanda Salvesen and senior Genoa Warner.

A third team will travel to Boston College for the Boston College Invitational at the Savin Hill Yacht Club in Dorchester, Mass. Yale will send an all female contingent with freshman skippers Morgan Kiss and Urska Kosir and crews freshman Sarah Smith and sophomore Madeline Yozwiak.

All racing will begin at the normal New England time of 9:30 a.m.

Report filed by Margot Benedict '12, Yale Sports Publicity