No. 1 Bulldogs Sail to Defend Ivy Honors

No. 1 Bulldogs Sail to Defend Ivy Honors

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The No. 1 Yale coed sailing team will send teams to defend four trophies this weekend as well as compete in its first Central Series of the season. The Bulldogs will compete at the Boston Dinghy Cup hosted by MIT and Harvard and the Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp Trophies hosted by the US Naval Academy, hoping to repeat their victories at these events from last year. Yale will also compete at Central Series Two held at Boston University.

Yale has jumped to the top of the Sailing World College Rankings this week, clinching the top spot. In an open poll in which 28 coaches voted, the Bulldogs received 10 first-place votes. In total the Bulldogs received 520 points, 25 points more than No. 2 Georgetown. This improvement shows that after being able to practice regularly the Bulldogs will be able to be competitive all season, as was shown at the Truxtun Umstead Intersectional this past weekend.

The Boston Dinghy Cup is the oldest collegiate sailing trophy. It is sailed on the Charles River, which some say was the location of the birth of college sailing. Three divisions of doublehanded boats compete at the Boston Dinghy Cup. Two fleets of FJs and one fleet of Fireflies are rotated through all three divisions, giving every sailor a chance to prove themselves in each fleet. The Bulldogs showed their depth and versatility last year by winning this event.

Sailing A division at the Boston Dinghy Cup will be senior skipper Cameron Cullman with sophomore crew Sarah Smith. The duo competed on the Charles River at the Sharpe Trophy and sailed their way to a second-place finish, showing their comfort with the often-tricky venue of the Charles River. Senior skipper Emily Billing with junior crew Amanda Salvesen will sail B division. Junior skipper Max Nickbarg and freshman crew Sanam Rastegar will round out the team in C division.

The Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp Trophies create one regatta that represents three separate championships. Only the charter members of the Intercollegiate Sailing Association, members of the Ivy League, Coast Guard, Navy and their traditional rivals are invited to compete at this event. Named for George Owen, who invented the Tech dingy, the Owen Trophy is awarded to the overall winner of the event. The Mosbacher Trophy, named for the Dartmouth sailor who sent on to defend two America's Cups, is awarded to the top Ivy League finisher at the event, since sailing does not have an official Ivy League Championship. Thirdly, the Knapp Trophy is awarded to the top finisher among the big-three Ivy League schools: Harvard, Princeton and Yale. Last spring, Yale won all three trophies.

This year, the Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp Trophies will be sailed for at the US Naval Academy. Coming off their victory at the Truxtun Umstead Intersectional that is also held at Navy, the same doublehnaded team used at the Trux will sail at the Owen, Mosbacher and Knapp. In A division, sophomore skipper Graham Landy with crews senior Heather May and junior Will Feldman will hope to clinch another A division victory. Junior captain Chris Segerblom and freshman crew Charlotte Belling will sail in B division.

Central Series Two held at Boston University will be sailed just down the river from the Boston Dinghy Cup. The freshman duo of skipper Eric Anderson and crew Megan Valentine will sail in A division while senior skipper Zachary Foreman will sail with freshman crew Henry Lewis in B division.

Racing will begin at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday. Follow results at


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity