Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 1 Bulldogs Prepare for Qualifiers

Belling (Photo Credit: Rob Migliaccio)
Belling (Photo Credit: Rob Migliaccio)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – In the final weekend before qualifiers for the Atlantic Coast Championship begins, the No. 1 Yale coed sailing team will compete for the Hoyt Trophy hosted by Brown. Two other teams of Bulldogs will race at MIT in the Oberg Trophy, and at Roger Williams in Southern Series #7.


The Sherman Hoyt Trophy is the final intersectional before the New England Dinghy Championship next weekend, making this the last weekend for Yale to brush up on its dinghy skills before qualifiers. During a season dominated by singlehanded and sloop events, using traditional doublehanded events as practice is crucial to late-season success.


Sailing A division will be junior skipper Graham Landy with crews senior Will Feldman and junior Katherine Gaumond. In B division, senior captain Chris Segerblom will skipper with crews junior Sarah Smith and sophomore Charlotte Belling. The team will be sailing in Brown's fleet of 420s on Narragansett Bay.


On the Charles River, the Bulldogs will also compete in a three-division intersectional: the 75th Oberg Trophy. Senior skipper Max Nickbarg will sail with crew freshman Natalya Doris, sophomore skipper Marly Isler will sail with crew freshman Clara Robertson and rounding out the team will be freshman duo skipper Mitchell Kiss and crew Isabelle Rossi de Leon. Alumn Cam Cullman '13 will provide his expert knowledge of the Charles River as coach during the weekend.


Finally, a third Yale team will travel to Roger Williams to compete in Southern Series #7. Sophomores skipper Eric Anderson and crew Megan Valentine, who have shown drastic improvement throughout the season, will sail A division. Sophomore skipper Henry Lewis and freshmen crews Amelia Dobronyi and Elizabeth Tokarz will represent Yale in B division.


The Bulldogs will use this week's break from classes to get as much extra practice in as possible, hoping their efforts will translate to continuing top results. All racing will begin at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday. Follow results live at


Report filed by Katherine Gaumond '15, Yale Sports Publicity