No. 3 Bulldogs To Compete in Team Race Events

No. 3 Bulldogs To Compete in Team Race Events

April 3, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The No. 3 Bulldogs will get back into team racing mode this weekend after two successful weekends of fleet racing which saw the Bulldogs capture the Ivy League Regatta title and take second at the highly competitive Truxtun Umsted Intersectional. The Bulldogs will compete at the Southern New England Team Race jointly hosted by Coast Guard and Connecticut College and will host the Ted Ferrarone Team Race Intersectional at the McNay Family Sailing Center.

The Southern New England Team Race is the largest and most competitive team race regatta of the year. The event, which will be co-hosted by Coast Guard and Connecticut College on the Thames River in New London, will be mostly sailed in FJs, but 420s may be used as well. This year, 18 teams will compete at the event, with 16 of the competing teams ranked in the top 20 nationally. Nine of the top 10 ranked teams will be in action at the event. The Bulldogs will start off competition in the preliminary round at Coast Guard against Coast Guard, No. 4 St. Mary's, No. 7 Navy, No. 9 Tufts, No. 11 Stanford, No. 14 MIT, No. 16 SUNY Maritime and No. 20 Old Dominion. The top five teams from this round robin and a further five from another round robin that will be hosted by Connecticut College will advance to the finals, which will be held at Coast Guard on Sunday. Last year, the Bulldogs finished fourth at the event with a 6-3 record in the Championship round. The Bulldogs narrowly lost third place on a tie breaker.

The Bulldogs will also host the Ted Ferrarone Team Race at the McNay Family Sailing Center in 420s. The event honors former Yale sailor Ted Ferrarone '98, who was instrumental in the event's founding in 1997. The regatta, the only event hosted by the Bulldogs during the spring season, will feature 10 teams from around the country. Teams competing at the event will include No. 2 Boston College, No. 8 Roger Williams, No. 13 South Florida, No. 19 Boston University, Bowdoin, Dartmouth, Penn, Rhode Island and Wisconsin. The Bulldogs did not compete at the event last year, but placed fourth in 2007. The Bulldogs last won the event in the spring of 2005.

Competition will get underway at 9:30 a.m. at both venues and will continue on Sunday, beginning at the same time.

Report filed by Caleb Dorfman '09, Yale Sports Publicity