Team Awards Presented At Annual Post Season Banquet

Josh Davis. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Josh Davis. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Alex Zampier Named Most Valuable Player

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's basketball team gathered at The Course At Yale on Wednesday night for the annual post-season banquet, and seven team awards were presented. Alex Zampier was the recipient of the Dutch Arnold Award as the most valuable player and the Eggie Miles Award for free throw shooting. Austin Morgan received the John C. Cobb Award as Yale's rookie of the year and the George McReynolds Award as the team's top defensive player. The Richard Derby Academic Award was presented to Raffi Mantilla. Paul Nelson received the Stan Smith Senior Award and Rhett Anderson was the recipient of the Josh Hill Award.

Zampier, a second team All-Ivy selection, enjoyed an outstanding senior season. He led the team in scoring (17.4 ppg.), three-pointers (55), steals (59) and free throw percentage (.858). His 59 steals established a Yale single-season record, and his 17.4 scoring average was the highest at Yale since Paul Maley averaged 20.2 points in 1987-88. Zampier finished third in the Ivy League in scoring and second in free throw percentage and steals.

Morgan, who finished second on the team in three-pointers (24), made an immediate impact in his rookie year, starting 12 games. He led the team with 14 points in a victory at Dartmouth and scored a career-high 17 points against Albertus Magnus.

Mantilla, a junior, established career highs in games played (27), points (65) and three-pointers (23) this season. He made the first start of his career at Lehigh and made a key three-pointer with 5 minutes left that put Yale ahead for good in the victory over Dartmouth.

Nelson appeared in 99 games in his career at Yale. This season he started a career-high 19 games and finished in the top-10 in the Ivy League in rebounding (t-5th, 5.5 rpg.) and blocked shots (7th, 26).

Anderson appeared in 23 games off the bench. The Josh Hill Award is presented for hard work and dedication to the Yale Basketball program.

The Bulldogs were fourth in the Ivy League, their 10th straight season finishing in the top half of the league.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity