Zampier Named To Connecticut 6 First Team

Alex Zampier. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Alex Zampier. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Led Yale In Scoring

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Alex Zampier put on quite a show in the augural Connecticut 6 Classic in November. He scored 35 points in the game against Sacred Heart, the most by a Yale player since 1983. That performance was the start of an outstanding senior season for Zampier, who led the Bulldogs in scoring (17.4 ppg.), three-pointers (55), steals (59) and free throw percentage (.858). Wednesday he received another accolade for those accomplishments by being named to the Connecticut 6 first team.

Zampier finished third in the Ivy League in scoring and second in free throw percentage and steals. His 59 steals established a Yale single-season record, and his 17.4 scoring average was the highest at Yale since Paul Maley averaged 20.2 points in 1987-88. In his career, he scored 1,144 points and made 135 three-pointers. In addition, he is Yale's all-time leader with 167 steals.

Quinnipiac University forward Justin Ruddy earned the Connecticut 6 Player of the Year award, while Fairfield University guard Derek Needham collected the Connecticut 6 Rookie of the Year award as voted by the men's basketball coaches of the six member schools – Central Connecticut, Fairfield, Hartford, Quinnipiac, Sacred Heart and Yale.

The six teams met for the inaugural Connecticut 6 Classic last November at the Arena at Harbor Yard in Bridgeport. The Classic will move to the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville for the 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons.

2009-10 All-Connecticut 6 Teams

First Team

James Feldeine, Quinnipiac                                         

Anthony Johnson, Fairfield                                           

Derek Needham, Fairfield                                

Justin Rutty, Quinnipiac  

Alex Zampier, Yale                                                

Second Team

Corey Hassan, Sacred Heart                             

James Johnson, Quinnipiac                                           

Ryan Litke, Sacred Heart                                    

Shemik Thompson, Central Connecticut     

Joe Zeglinski, Hartford                                       

Connecticut 6 Player of the Year

Justin Rutty, Quinnipiac

Connecticut 6 Rookie of the Year

Derek Needham, Fairfield

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity