Yale Hands Out Team Awards At Post Season Banquet

Reggie Willhite (Ron Waite photo)
Reggie Willhite (Ron Waite photo)

Six Players Honored

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Six players received team awards at the annual Yale men's basketball post-season banquet on Wednesday night at the Yale Golf Course.

Greg Mangano, who led the Ivy League in rebounding and blocks and shared the league lead in scoring, was the recipient of the Dutch Arnold Award as most valuable player.

Reggie Willhite was presented with the George McReynolds Award as the top defensive player. Willhite set a single-season Yale record with 65 steals and also was named the Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year. Willhite, the team captain, also received the Stan Smith Senior Award.

Junior Austin Morgan won the Eggie Miles Award for free throw shooting. Morgan set a single-season school record with a .900 percentage from the foul line, which was fifth in the nation.

Brandon Sherrod was the recipient of the John C. Cobb Award as Yale's rookie of the year. Sherrod appeared in all 29 games off the bench and averaged 4.0 points and 2.8 rebounds.

The Josh Hill Award, which is presented for hard work and dedication to the Yale Basketball program, was presented to sophomore Jesse Pritchard, who started the final seven games of the season.

Freshman Matt Townsend received the Richard Derby Academic Award.

It was a very successful season for the Bulldogs, who won 19 games and reached the postseason for only the fifth time in school history. Yale played in the CollegeInsider.com Tournament, losing to Fairfield in the first round.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity