Six Players Earn Team Awards At Post Season Banquet

Austin Morgan (
Austin Morgan (

Morgan Wins Dutch Arnold Award As Team MVP

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The 2012-13 Yale men's basketball team gathered for one final time for the annual post-season banquet last Wednesday night at the Yale Golf Course. The Bulldogs celebrated the season and handed out the team awards.

Senior Austin Morgan, who led the team in scoring, was the recipient of the Dutch Arnold Award as the most valuable player. Morgan was the only player to start all 31 games. He averaged 10.9 points, his third straight year as a double figure scorer, and led the team with 60 three-pointers, the seventh most in a season in school history. His .912 free throw percentage (93-of-102) broke the single-season school record he set last year, and was the third best in the nation.

Morgan, a Reno, Nev., native, ended his outstanding career with the highest free throw percentage (.859) in school history. Not surprisingly, he also was the recipient of the Eggie Miles Award as the team's top free throw shooter for the second straight year.

The Stan Smith Senior Award was presented to team captain Sam Martin. In addition to providing the team with outstanding leadership, Martin set career highs in three-pointers (34), points (142) and games played (31). His .459 three-point field goal percentage was the second best in the Ivy League.

Sophomore Matt Townsend earned two honors, the George McReynolds Award as the top defensive player and the Richard Derby Academic Award. Townsend started 17 games and protected the paint for the Bulldogs. He tied for third on the team in scoring (7.7 ppg.) and was fourth in rebounding (4.0 rpg.).

Justin Sears was named the John C. Cobb Award winner as Yale's rookie of the year. Sears finished second on the team in scoring (9.5 ppg.) and tied for the team lead in rebounding (5.3 rpg.). His 78 offensive rebounds were the second most in the Ivy League and his .489 field goal percentage was the sixth-best.

The Josh Hill Award, which is presented for hard work and dedication to the Yale Basketball program, was presented to sophomore Brandon Sherrod. Sherrod overcame an injury in the middle of the season and averaged 8.3 points and 4.7 rebounds over the last seven games of the year.

Sophomore Javier Duren received the Most Improved Player Award. After playing in 17 games off the bench as a rookie, Duren started 20 games, including 12 of 14 Ivy games, and averaged 7.7 points. He led the team with 80 assists and 37 steals.

The Bulldogs (14-17, 8-6 Ivy) finished third in the Ivy League this year and had their third straight year with a winning league mark.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity