Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gladstone Named Ivy Coach of Year

Steve Conn image
Steve Conn image

Yale IV Earns First-Team All-Ivy Status


PRINCETON, N.J. -- The Coaches of the Year and heavyweight and lightweight All-Ivy teams for Ivy League men's rowing were announced following the 72nd Eastern Association of Rowing College (EARC) Sprints on May 13.
Steve Gladstone was named the League's Heavyweight Coach of the Year for the third straight season after guiding Yale to its fourth consecutive EARC Sprint Title, marking the first time in 41 years a heavyweight crew has accomplished such a feat. He was Ivy coach of the year in 2015 and 2016.

The Bulldogs also earned the Rowe Cup, based off points derived from the 1V, 2V and 3V races. Yale finished with 39 points followed by Princeton (35) and Harvard (32) in second and third places.

The All-Ivy teams are determined by the finishes in the varsity eight grand finals. Rowers in the first Ivy League boat to cross the finish line are named first-team All-Ivy and members of the second Ivy boat to finish are named second-team All-Ivy.


Steve Gladstone, Yale


Coxswain: Vlad Saigau
Stroke: Sholto Carnegie
7. Leonard Jenkins
6. Cole Tilden
5. Charlie Elwes
4. Paul Jacquot
3. Thomas Beck
2. Thomas Digby
Bow: Jack Lopas