Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Sweeps Dartmouth

Yale Sweeps Dartmouth

April 11, 2009

Photo Gallery 1  |  Photo Gallery 2 

DERBY, Conn. - In its second dual of the spring, the Yale men's heavyweight crew team cruised to wins over Dartmouth. The Yale varsity eight won on a chilly and rainy morning to ensure that the Olympic Axe stays at Gilder Boathouse for another year.

The first event of the morning was the third varsity race. Against the Dartmouth 3V/2F combination boat, the Yale third varsity of Kristoffer Strauss (stroke), Vincent Granata (seven), Nathaniel Reeve (six), Matthew Barber (five), Colin Campbell (four), Patrick Vergara (three), Simon Warren (two), Charlie Pfeifer (bow) and Francesca Yi (cox) posted a time of 5:51.3 to Dartmouth's 6:14.8 for a margin of 23.5 seconds. The Yale 3V quickly pulled away at the start to walk away and never look back. Last year, the third varsity raced in the second varsity race and beat the Dartmouth second varsity boat.

The second event of the day was the freshman eight. The Yale freshman boat included Thomas Dethlefs (stroke), Joseph Alagna (seven), Benjamin Bowles (six), Jonathan Martin (five), Patrick O'Malley (four), Robert Macmillan (three), Keith Pfirrman (two), Django Broer-Hellermann (bow) and Emma McBurney (cox). In a closer finish than the previous race, the freshman eight beat Dartmouth with a time of 5:41.1 to 5:43.6.

The second varsity of George Moran (stroke), Benjamin Grant (seven), Benjamin Ortiz (six), Erik Woelber (five), Dominique Fenton (four), Antonio Sirianni (three), Duncan Logie (two), Keir Evans (bow) and Emily Flaxman (cox), cruised to victory over Dartmouth in 5:45.8 to the Big Green's 5:57.4. The JV slowly built up a lead of about a boat-length of open water in the first 1000 meters. The second half saw them take a couple more to finish the race 11.6 seconds ahead of Dartmouth.

The final event of the morning was the varsity eight. The Yale 1V finished off the clean sweep by beating the Dartmouth varsity boat by 2.5 seconds. The first varsity boat included Derek Johnson (stroke), Andrew Collard (seven), Pieter Morgan (six), Lucas Spielfogel (five), Matthew Ramlow (four), James Tormey (three), Henry Cole (two), Marcos Carzolio (bow) and Rebecca Burgoyne-Allen (cox). In last year's race, the 2008 1V also beat Dartmouth.


Varsity 8:
Yale - 5:39.4
Dartmouth - 5:41.9

2nd Varsity 8:
Yale 2V - 5:45.8
Dartmouth 2V - 5:57.4

3rd Varsity 8:
Yale - 5:51.3
Dartmouth - 6:14.8

Freshman 8:
Yale - 5:41.1
Dartmouth - 5:43.6

The Bulldogs will host Columbia and Penn on Apr. 18 for the Blackwell Cup. This will be the penultimate race before Eastern Sprints on May 10.

Report filed Yale Sports Publicity