Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lightweights Win Durand Cup

Lightweights Win Durand Cup

DERBY, Conn. – The lightweights won the Durand Cup for the third year in a row Saturday with a sweep of Dartmouth. On a warm day on the Housatonic, all crews took advantage of the near-perfect conditions to secure significant margins over the Big Green. The Elis will now seek to carry this momentum through to next weekend, when they welcome Harvard and Princeton to their home course.


The first race of the day was the third varsity eight, at 9:40 a.m. The Bulldogs led from the start, moving away from Dartmouth after a fast first 500m. Strong and composed, the Elis closed to a 9.6 second victory: 6:02.4 to 6:12.0.


It was a similar story in the second varsity eight. Using the stagger to its advantage, Yale snatched a length lead before the turn. Holding their margin around the outside of the turn, the Bulldogs continued to pull away down the stretch—winning 5:56.6 to 6:02.6.


The first varsity eight was next. Entering the race ranked No. 6, the Elis were eager to test their speed in the run up to the post-season. The Bulldogs settled into a strong base cadence, and were able to pull away from Dartmouth in the middle thousand meters. The race finished with Yale in a 7.3 second lead over the Big Green, posting a fast time of 5:48.7 to Dartmouth's 5:56.0


The last race of the day saw four members of the third varsity eight doubling up in the fourth varsity eight. The Elis closed to Yale's largest margin of the day, winning 6:08.6 to 6:23.3.


It was a positive day all around for the Bulldogs, and they will seek to learn from the day's races as the season enters the final critical weeks. Next up, the Elis face Harvard and Princeton on the Housatonic River, where they will battle their traditional rivals for the Goldthwait and Vogel Cups.


Report filed by Yale Sports Publicity



First varsity eight

Coxswain: Eli Block

Stroke: Austin Velte

7: Brendan Kelleher

6: Matthew Segal

5: William Van Fossen

4: Alexander George

3: Gregory Hawkins

2: Aaron Jones

Bow: Dughan Ahimovic

Second varsity eight

Coxswain: Ashley Wu

Stroke: Robert Wulbern

7: Gabriel Roy Liguori

6: Hubert Simpson

5: William Harrington

4: Thomas Foster

3: Alexander Spaulding

2: Matthew Cecil

Bow: Pavle Krivokapic

Third varsity eight

Coxswain: Brookie Hewes

Stroke: Noah Baily

7: Eric Esposito

6: Jack Welsh 

5: Christopher Gunther

4: Blake Knuth

3: Mikko Salovaara

2: Nathaniel Howe

Bow: Nicholas Sauder