Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Y150 Varsity Defeats No. 1 Cornell

Lightweight Varsity Eight
Lightweight Varsity Eight

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale lightweight first varsity eight defeated two-time National Champions and current No. 1 ranked Cornell University. Conditions were highly favorable for racing with a light tail wind.

The first race of the morning was the fourth varsity race. Cornell took an early win against the Yale 4V winning the race in a time of 5:52.94.

Yale's second and third varsity eights also suffered defeats. The 3V race was closely fought but the Big Red was able to win by 2 seconds, in a time of 5:46.68 over Yale, 5:48.57.

The Yale second varsity eight took the early advantage and led Cornell by a length at the halfway point. Cornell however was able to overcome the deficit and eventually beat Yale by a half-length in a time of 5:41.99.

The final race of the morning was the varsity eight race. The Bulldogs, who are currently undefeated, demonstrated their strength and led the race start to finish, racing to an open-water margin over the nation's No. 1 ranked lightweight crew. Yale finished 6.6 seconds ahead of Cornell in a fast race, posting a time of 5:35.31 over the Big Red, 5:41.94.

Yale lightweight crew captain, and 4-seat of the varsity eight, Austin Velte spoke entusiastically of the morning results: "Today was a good day for the team. It's always great to test yourself against high caliber competition and each boat was able to learn something today. The key will be to take the information from today and turn it into boat speed in the coming weeks."

Y150 now prepares to race No. 8 Dartmouth, in Hanover, N.H. on Saturday April 23.


Official results can be found on row2k here


First Varsity Eight: Bow - Dughan Ahimovic, 2 - Brendan Kelleher, 3 - Gabriel Roy Liguori, 4 - Austin Velte, 5 - William Van-Fossen, 6 - Aaron Jones, 7 - William Harrington, Stroke - Matthew Segal, Coxswain – Eli Block

Second Varsity: Bow – Kevin Koste, 2 – Thomas Foster, 3 – Eric Esposito, 4 – Matthew Matejka, 5 – Alexander George, 6 – Hubert Simpson, 7 – Noah Baily, Stroke – Nicholas Sauder, Coxswain - Ashley Wu

Third Varsity: Bow – Nathaniel Howe, 2 – Simon Sharp, 3 – Raymond O'Mahony, 4 – Matthew Jones, 5 –Jordan Young, 6 – Nicholas Matthes, 7 – Nicolai Parks, Stroke – Pavle Krivokapic, Coxswain – Ihna Mangundayao

Fourth Varsity: Bow – Chris King, 2 – Dylan Gastel, 3 – James Barile, 4 – Michael Li, 5 – Louis Abrassard, 6 – Alexander Herkert, 7 – Adam Straus-Goldfarb, Stroke – Alex Vidal, Coxswain – Catalina Chernavvsky Sequeira

Report filed by Yale Sports Publicity