3 Bulldogs Earn All-NE Honors

3 Bulldogs Earn All-NE Honors

Money, McCarthy, Haynes Add To Honors

BOSTON, Mass. – Three Yale defensive players who earned first-team All-Ivy honors this fall have been named to the 2010 FCS All-New England team as selected by the New England Football Writers. Seniors SS Adam Money (Whiteland, Ind.) and DE Tom McCarthy (Chester, N.J.) and junior LB Jordan Haynes all made the All-New England squad.


McCarthy, the 2010 captain, led the team with four sacks and three forced fumbles while making more tackles (31) than any Eli lineman despite playing in just seven games due to injury.


Haynes, the new Yale captain, had a team-high 102 tackles (third most in the Ivy) to go along with two sacks and a pair of interceptions. He scored Yale's first touchdown of 2010 by running back a fumble four yards against Georgetown.


Money (37 tackles) led the Blue with three interceptions and seven pass break-ups. It was the second consecutive year McCarthy and Money earned All-Ivy honors.


The New England team, which represents 12 schools, will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, Dec. 9, at the Montvale Plaza in Stoneham, Mass.


The squad of 30 features 21 seniors along with eight juniors and one sophomore. Four conferences are represented with the Ivy League leading the way with 13 players.


2010 All-New England Team



OL    Mike Allison                Central Conn.       Sr.

OL    Patrick Conroy           Brown                    Sr.

OL    Greg Niland Massachusetts      Sr.

OL    Mike McCabe            Holy Cross            Sr.

OL    Ryan O'Neill             Dartmouth            Jr.

RB   Jordan Brown             Bryant                    So.

RB   Gino Gordon               Harvard                 Sr.

RB   Nick Schwieger          Dartmouth            Jr.

QB   Dale Fink                    Sacred Heart         Sr.

WR  Terrance Fox               New Hampshire   Sr.

WR  Anthony Nelson         Massachusetts      Sr.

WR  Alexander Tounkara                 Brown                    Sr.

TE    Derek Buttles              Maine                                    Jr.



DL Victor Adesanya       Rhode Island        Sr.

DL Charles Bay              Dartmouth            Sr.

DL Tom McCarthy         Yale                   Sr.

DL Brian McNally          New Hampshire   Jr.

DL Josue Ortiz                Harvard                 Sr.

LB Matt Hansen             Rhode Island        Sr.

LB  Jordan Haynes          Yale                  Jr.

LB  Tyler Holmes            Massachusetts      Jr.

LB  Sean Lamkin                Holy Cross    Sr.

LB  Jason Riffe                Bryant                    Sr.

DB Adam Money            Yale                     Sr.

DB Hugo Souza               New Hampshire   Sr.

DB Dino Vasso                New Hampshire   Sr.

DB Collin Zych               Harvard                 Sr.



RS  Shawn Abuhoff        Dartmouth            Jr.

PK  Joe Izzo                     Central Conn.       Sr.

P     Nate Lovett               Brown    Jr.