Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Celebrate Seniors at Annual Banquet

Bulldogs Celebrate Seniors at Annual Banquet

Jan. 26, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The 2007 Yale football team gathered for one last time Saturday night at Commons for the annual team banquet, reflecting on the program's recent accomplishments and celebrating the senior class.

The 28 seniors were all recognized at the event, where Jack Siedlecki, Yale's Joel E. Smilow '54 Head Coach of Football, put their accomplishments in perspective.

"We have 17 wins in the last two years, including an Ivy title," said Siedlecki. "The last time Yale won that many games in two years was 26 years ago, when they also went 8-2 and 9-1. Yale has a tremendous football tradition, and we have guys accomplishing what hasn't been accomplished in a over a quarter-century."

The senior class played a major role in setting the tone for the team both on and off the field.

"This was an easy team to coach," Siedlecki said. "They liked each other, and they had fun, but when the whistle blew they were ready to go."

Siedlecki also thanked all those in the crowd of several hundred at Commons who had contributed to the team's success. Members of the support staff, including equipment managers, trainers, strength and conditioning coaches, team doctors, student managers, administrative assistants, radio broadcasters, newspaper reporters and sports information staff all received rounds of applause.

Yale captain Brandt Hollander and his fellow seniors gave gifts to the coaching staff, and the Bulldogs also gave out their annual team awards. Linebacker Bobby Abare was formally introduced as the 2008 captain after being selected by a team vote Friday.

2007 Yale Football Team Awards

Ted Blair Award
Given to the most valuable player on the varsity team in memory of Edwin Foster (Ted) Blair '24.
TB Mike McLeod '09 (New Britain, Conn.)

Jordan Olivar Award
Given to that senior, other than the captain, who, through his devotion to Yale football, has earned the highest respect of his teammates.
FB Joe Fuccillo '08 (Rockville, Md.)

Woody Knapp Memorial Trophy
Given to that outstanding member of the football team who best typifies the cheerful disposition, leadership qualities, and unselfish devotion to others which characterized Woody's life and accomplishments at Yale.
WR Chris Denny-Brown '07 (Burlingame, Calif.)
DB Dan Sica `08 (Edison, N.J.)

Robert Gardner Anderson Award
Given to the player who best exemplifies Bob's interest in the sport by combination of skill, spirit and pride in accomplishment.
DL Kirk Porter '08 (Silver Spring, Md.)

Norman S. Hall Memorial Trophy
Given to an individual for outstanding service to Yale football, in memory of Norman Hall '30.
DL Stephen Schmalhofer '08 (Lancaster, Pa.)

Gregory Dubinetz Memorial Trophy
Given to the lineman who best exemplifies the spirit of Greg Dubinetz as a player and person.
DL Jared Hamilton '08 (Alpine, Utah)

Charles Loftus Award
Given to the most valuable freshman.
WR/DB Gio Christodoulou '11 (Miami, Fla.)

Chester J. LaRoche Award
Given to that senior who, by his character, academic talents and concern for others, did the most for Yale.
PK Alan Kimball '08 (Olathe, Kan.)

Ledyard Mitchell Award
Awarded for proficiency in kicking.
PK Alan Kimball '08 (Olathe, Kan.)

Jim Keppel Award
(Offensive Back of the Year)
Given to the offensive back who best exhibited Jim's work ethic, pride and dedication to Yale Football, as well as his ability to enrich the lives of his friends and teammates.
QB Matt Polhemus '08 (N. Chatham, Mass.)

Ryan LoProto Award
(Defensive Back of the Year)
Awarded to the player on the Yale Football Team who best exemplifies Ryan's passion and competitive spirit, skill in the defensive secondary, and devotion to teammates.
LB Bobby Abare '09 (Acton, Mass.)

Offensive Lineman of the Year
(Ted Turner Award)
OL Jeff Monaco '08 (McDonald, Pa.)
TE Langston Johnson '08 (Los Altos, Calif.)

Defensive Lineman of the Year
MG Brandt Hollander '08 (Indianapolis, Ind.)

Hammer of the Year
FB Joe Fuccillo '08 (Rockville, Md.)

Specialist of the Year
DB Matt Coombs `08 (Bellevue, Wash.)

report by Sam Rubin '95 (, Yale Sports Publicity