Teams, Players Selected for Regional at Yale

Teams, Players Selected for Regional at Yale

May 20-22 Tournament on Famous Course

More Information

INDIANAPOLIS - Fourteen teams and five individual golfers were selected today to compete on the world famous Course at Yale , recently voted the No. 1 college course in the United States, in pursuit of the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship. Yale's venue is one of six 54-hole regional tournaments on May 20-22.

Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional advances to the finals.

The 6,749-yard, par-70 layout at the Course At Yale is recognized as one of the finest examples of early American course design. Large deeply bunkered greens and narrow rolling fairways are the core of Yale's penalizing character. Two of the holes - the 432-yard par-4 fourth and the 238-yard par 3 ninth - have been ranked among the world's 100 most difficult holes. The course, which opened for play in 1926, was designed under the supervision of Charles Blair Macdonald, the renowned golf course architect, champion golfer and co-founder of the USGA.

The five other 2010 sites and hosts include the Capital City Club in Alpharetta, Ga., (Georgia Institute of Technology); The Warren Golf Course in South Bend, Ind. (Notre Dame); Carlton Oaks Golf Course in San Diego, Calif. (San Diego State); The Traditions Club in College Station, Texas (Texas A&M); and Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash. (University of Washington).

The finals will be conducted June 1-6 at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is the host institution for this year's championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the regional at Yale. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

The Course at Yale - New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
2. Texas
3. South Carolina
4. Virginia
5. Alabama
6. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
7. Southeastern Louisiana (Southland Conference)
8. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
9. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
10. Vanderbilt
11. Penn State
12. North Carolina-Wilmington
13. Columbia (Ivy Group)
14. Lafayette (Patriot League)

1. Max McKay, Liberty
2. Ben Herrera, Iowa State
3. Harold Varner, East Carolina
4. Robert Karlsson, Liberty
5. Scotty Williams, Pennsylvania