Bernstein Gets 2014 Mallory Award

Sam Bernstein. (photo by
Sam Bernstein. (photo by

Yale Golfer Was Two-Time Ivy Player of Year

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Sam Bernstein, the two-time Ivy League Men's Golf Player of the Year, has been named the winner of the 2014 William Neely Mallory Award, the most prestigious athletic award given to a senior male at Yale. The award was presented at today's Class Day exercises.

Bernstein, the senior captain, earned All-Ivy League honors all four years. He was the 2011 league rookie of the year while garnering second-team All-Ivy honors. That year he had five top-10 finishes before competing for the Bulldogs at the 2011 NCAA East Regional at Virginia Tech.

Yale's top player was a first-team All-Ivy selection as a sophomore, finishing third at the league championships. Bernstein was sixth in the 2013 league tournament.

This spring, the political science major in Silliman College, averaged 71.9 for the year with a low round of 67. Bernstein, the first golfer to win the Mallory Award, posted solid rounds while leading the Bulldogs to victory at The Doc Gimmler Tournament and the Ivy League Match Play contest.

He tied for second at the Met Intercollegiate, tied for fifth at the Fighting Irish Gridiron Golf Classic and recorded seventh-place finishes at The Doc Gimmler and the Macdonald Cup. In his final regular-season tournament, he shot 223 to tie for ninth at the Ivy League Championship.

Bernstein has been active off the course and out of the classroom, including founding the Harlem Children's Zone Golf Program and working with The First Tee for two years. He also interned at Bloomberg Sports, specializing in sports analytics and marketing, and served as a talk show host and game commentator at WYBC Radio.



YEAR           STUDENT-ATHLETE                           SPORT

1953-54         Richard F. Polich                                    Football

1954-55         Philip H. Mathias                                    Football

1955-56         William P. Lovejoy                                 Football

1956-57         Stephen H. Ackerman                             Football

1957-58         Richard D. Wailes                                   Crew (Hwt)

1958-59         Gerard E. Jones                                       Hockey

1959-60         Richard A. Winkler                                 Football

1960-61         Howard A. Will, Jr.                                Football

1961-62         James E. Luck                                         Track

1962-63         William Wilson Hildebrand                    Baseball/Hockey

1963-64         George M. Humphrey II                         Football/Lax/Boxing

1964-65         Stephen E. Clark                                     Swimming

1965-66         James Grant Groninger                           Football/Lacrosse

1966-67         John Lewis Morrison                              Hockey

1967-68         Edward C. Goldstone                             Baseball/Basketball

1968-69         Brian J. Dowling                                     Football

1969-70         Kwaku Ohene-Frempong                       Track

1970-71         Thomas Brown Neville                           Football

1971-72         William Lawrence Story, Jr.                   Football/Lacrosse

1972-73         Richard Manual Jauron                           Football

1973-74         Timothy F. Karpoff                                Wrestling

1974-75         Rudolph H. Green                                  Football

1975-76         Neal Robert Brendel                               Wrestling

1976-77         Carnell Cooper                                        Basketball

1977-78         John L. Pagliaro                                      Football

1978-79         William C. Crowley                                Football

1979-80         Timothy M. Tumpane                             Football

1980-81         Kevin R. Czinger                                    Football

1981-82         Richard Diana                                         Football/Baseball

1982-83         Robert W. Brooke                                   Hockey/Baseball

1983-84         Earl G. Graves, Jr.                                   Basketball

1984-85         J. Peter Sawkins                                      Hockey/Soccer

1985-86         Hugh Owen LaBossier                           Squash

1986-87         Jeff Duback                                            Soccer

1987-88         Bernard "Kelly" Ryan                             Football

1988-89         Michael A. O'Neill                                  Ice Hockey

1989-90         Jonathan P. Reese                                   Football/Lacrosse

1990-91         James Gibson                                          Track & Cross-Country

1991-92         Edward Petersen                                     Basketball

1992-93         Rob Bonta                                               Soccer

1993-94         Matthew Levine                                      Track

1994-95         David Feuerstein                                     Baseball

1995-96         Daniel Thompson                                    Baseball

1996-97         Robert "Daniel" Chibuzo Okonkwo       Basketball

1997-98         Raymond Giroux                                    Men's Ice Hockey

1998-99         Alex Westlund                                        Men's Ice Hockey

1999-00         Joseph Walland                                       Football

2000-01         Eric Maxwell Johnson                             Football

2001-02         Thomas Lewis Hamaguchi Hocker         Track

2002-03         Christopher Leanza                                 Basketball

2003-04         Nathan Lawrie                                        Football/Track

2004-05         Robert Carr                                             Football

2005-06         Julian Illingworth                                    Squash

2006-07         Edward McCarthy                                  Football

2007-08         Josh Cox                                                 Baseball

2008-09         Mike McLeod                                         Football

                      Alex Righi                                               Swimming

2009-10         Thomas Barrows                                     Co-ed Sailing

2010-11         Broc Little                                               Men's Ice Hockey

2011-12         Brian O'Neill                                          Men's Ice Hockey

2012-13         Andrew Miller                                        Men's Ice Hockey

2013-14         Sam Bernstein                                         Men's Golf