Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Dignard, Little Named All-New England

Dignard, Little Named All-New England

Two Bulldogs Get Regional Honor


BOSTON, Mass. – There are rewards for having a team win back-to-back conference titles and go to the NCAAs both years. The Yale men’s hockey team, which just finished its season at 21-10-3 after a loss to Boston College in the Northeast Regional Final, got two players on the All-New England Team, senior Tom Dignard and junior Broc Little.

Six forwards, four defensemen and two goalies were selected to this one squad, and the two Yalies were the only ECAC picks.

Dignard, an all-conference defenseman with a 3.71 GPA, had six goals and 21 points this season and was named second-team All-America by He was also first-team All-Ivy this winter and ranks fourth among Division I blueliners and No. 1 in the ECAC with .93 points per game.

He has 19 career goals, which is fourth on the school charts for defensemen, while his 76 career points are fourth.  Dignard made the 2010 NCAA Northeast Regional All-Tournament Team.

Little, whose .79 goals per game leads the nation, finished with 27 goals, which is second most and done with five fewer games than the top scorer. He had 41 points and made  first-team All-ECAC and Ivy League while earning Player of the Month (Feb.) by the Hockey Commissioner’s Association.

Little is second in Division I with seven game-winning goals. His 27 goals (34 games) are the most by a Bulldog since Jeff Hamilton ’01 had 27 in 1997-98. He has 53 goals and 99 points in 95 career games.


2009-10 New England Men’s Division I All-Stars

Carter Hutton (UMass Lowell)
Brian Foster (New Hampshire)

Blake Kessel (New Hampshire)
Justin Braun (Massachusetts)
Colby Cohen (Boston University)
Tom Dignard (Yale)

Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)
Gustav Nyquist (Maine)
James Marcou (Massachusetts)
Brian Gibbons (Boston College)
Nick Johnson (Sacred Heart)
Broc Little (Yale)

2009-10 New England Hockey Awards

Clark Hodder Award – Division I Coach of the Year
Mark Dennehy (Merrimack)

Leonard Fowle Award – Most Valuable Player
Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)

George C. Carens Award – Rookie of the Year
Stephane Da Costa (Merrimack)

Herb Gallagher Award – Best Forward
Bobby Butler (New Hampshire)

Bob Monahan Award – Best Defenseman
Justin Braun (Massachusetts)

Paul Hines Award – Most Improved Player
Cam Atkinson (Boston College)

Frank Jones Award – Best Defensive Forward
Ben Holmstrom (UMass Lowell)

Parker/York Award – Contribution to New England Hockey
Ned Bunyon ( National Ice Hockey Officials Association (NIHOA).


release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director

Little image by Sam Rubin '95