Awards Handed Out at Team Banquet

Awards Handed Out at Team Banquet

Bulldogs Celebrate 2010-11 At Center Ice


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The most appropriate place to hand out the 2010-11 Yale Hockey Association Awards is center ice of the place where most of the accomplishments took place. This year's seven YHA award winners were named under the scoreboard at Ingalls Rink, without the ice, during tonight's team banquet.


The most valuable player of the team receives the Murray Murdoch Award, named after the legendary former Yale head coach and New York Rangers player. This year's honor is shared by senior goalie Ryan Rondeau and junior forward Brian O'Neill. Rondeau established numerous school records, including six shutouts this winter, while O'Neill, recently named captain of the 2011-12 team, led the squad with 20 goals and 45 points.


The John Poinier Award for the best defensive player on the team was also a combination pick. A pair of senior blueliners, captain Jimmy Martin and Mike Matczak, took the honors while helping the Blue lead the nation in scoring defense with a 2.06 mark. The Elis also led the country with 4.19 goals per game and were the top overall seed in the 2011 NCAA Tournament.


The Bulldogs, despite falling short of their ultimate goal, had plenty to celebrate with a school-record 28 wins, an ECAC Tournament Championship, an Ivy League title and another NCAA Tournament victory.


Keith Allain '80, Yale's Malcolm G. Chace Head Coach of Hockey, who recorded his 100th win at Yale against Air Force in the NCAA Tournament, summed up the play of his team by saying, "What I see every day is inspiring. It's a joy to watch you guys, to see the passion for the game, the trust you have in each other and the commitment to the team. I'm here to thank these players for that."


The fact that senior forward Jeff Anderson was named the recipient of the Yale Hockey Coaches Award reveals just how much adversity the Bulldogs fought through to accomplish all they did. Anderson, who suffered a season-ending injury in early December, was the player whose "determination and desire have contributed most to the team morale and spirit."


A number of Yale players have excelled in the classroom, but junior Charles Brockett took home the top honors as the Edward M. Wright, M.D. Award recipient. The defensive-minded forward scored a number of big goals this year while maintaining a 3.68 cumulative GPA.


Denny Kearney was the recipient of the Malcolm G. Chace Award for sportsmanship, spirit and ability. The senior forward had 16 goals and 41 points this winter before having a great showing in his AHL tryout with Springfield.


A huge second half of the season by Kenny Agostino not only earned the Yale newcomer the January Rookie of the Month by the College Hockey Commissioners Association, it enabled him to grab Yale's most outstanding first-year player honors, also known as the Martin Dwyer III Award. Agostino finished with 11 goals and 25 points.


Chris Cahill was out of school in 2009-10 for what would have been his senior year. He returned to Yale and enjoyed his best collegiate campaign with 15 goals and 34 points while earning the David C. Noyes III Award, which is given to a Bulldog whose "performance and attitude has most inspired his teammates through determination, grit and courage."


A number of former Yale hockey players were among the 170 people in attendance, and some even presented awards and spoke about the 2010-11 season. The most inspiring words came from former Bulldog player Roland Betts '68, the senior fellow of the Yale Corporation.




Martin Dwyer III Award- Presented by the YHA to the most outstanding first-year player of the Yale hockey team. (Bill Matthews '90 presented to Kenny Agostino '14)


John Poinier Award- Presented by the YHA to the best defensive player on the Yale hockey team. (Paul Farren '66 presented to Mike Matczak '11 and Jimmy Martin '11)


Yale Hockey Coaches Award- Presented to that member of the Yale Hockey team whose determination and desire have contributed most to team morale and the spirit of hockey at Yale. (Keith Allain '80 presented to Jeff Anderson '11)


David C. Noyes III Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team whose performance and attitude has most inspired his teammates through determination, grit and courage. (Jim Macdonald '78 presented to Chris Cahill '11)


J. Murray Murdoch Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team deemed the most valuable player. (Paul Farren '66 presented to Brian O'Neill '12 and Ryan Rondeau '11)


Edward M. Wright, M.D. Award- For athletic and academic accomplishments, leadership and dedication to the higher purposes of intercollegiate athletics. This award is based equally on two factors: success on the ice and success in the classroom. (Jim Macdonald '78 presented to Charles Brockett '12)


Malcom G. Chace Award- Presented by the YHA to that member of the Yale hockey team who, through sportsmanship, spirit, and ability, has best served the finest traditions of Yale hockey as exemplified by Malcom G. Chace. (Bill Matthews '90 presented to Denny Kearney '11)


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director

image: Jeff Anderson receives the Yale Hockey Coaches Award from Jeff Torre and Keith Allain.