Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

O'Neill, Miller Semi-Finalists For Walter Brown Award

Andrew Miller (photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity
Andrew Miller (photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity

Two Bulldogs Up For New England Honor

BOSTON, Mass – The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced today that Brian O'Neill (Yardley, Pa.) and Andrew Miller (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), a pair of 2010-11 first-team All-ECAC Hockey picks, are among 21 NCAA Division I players selected as semi-finalists for the 60th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.


O'Neill, the senior captain who has four goals over his last three games including tallies in both road contests last week, leads the team with 17 goals and 30 points. The Yale forward ranks among the nation's top players in goals and points per game. O'Neill has 147 points in 128 career games.


Miller, one of the nation's best passers, has a team-high 22 assists this year. He has been ranked in the top five for assists in Division I for two years. The junior forward has tallied 106 points in 94 collegiate outings.   


The nation's oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, that year; the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.


The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 60th Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers' Dinner in April.