Miller Named Ivy Player of Year

Miller Named Ivy Player of Year

4 Bulldogs Earn Ivy Honors

PRINCETON, N.J.  – He's been dishing out pucks for four seasons and has accumulated the second most assists in school history. Today, Yale men's hockey captain Andrew Miller (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) was served the 2012-13 Ivy League Player of the Year Award. He was one of five Bulldogs to earn All-Ivy League honors after the head coaches voted earlier this week.

Miller, a first-team selection, was joined by second-team picks Antoine Laganiere (Ile Cadieux, Que.), Jeff Malcolm (Lethbridge, Alb.) and Kenny Agostino (Flanders, NJ). Tommy Fallen (Plymouth, Minn.) earned honorable mention status.

Miller led the Blue to its third Ivy team title in the last four years. He is Yale's third Ivy Player of the Year in four seasons and ninth overall, following Brian O'Neill (2011-12) and Sean Backman (2009-10). The current Bulldog forward has 14 goals and 30 points this season, pushing his career totals to 107 assists and 145 points. He is just the second player in school history to surpass the 100-assist mark, while his 145 points rank sixth at Yale.

This is the third time Miller has earned a spot on the All-Ivy team and his second time on the first unit.

Agostino, a junior forward who was honorable mention All-Ivy last winter, leads the team with 33 points and is tied for the goal lead with Miller. Laganiere, who has more goals (31) over the last two seasons than any other Bulldog, is a senior forward receiving his first post-season honors. Malcolm, the senior goalie who helped the Blue earn home ice in the March 15-17 ECAC Quarterfinals with three wins to close out the regular season, has been in goal for 14 of Yale's 16 wins. This is Malcolm's first All-Ivy recognition.

Fallen, a sophomore, leads all blueliners with six goals and 19 points this season.

Yale, seeded third in the upcoming conference tournament, hosts one of the advancing teams from this weekend's first-round series.



Andrew Miller, Yale (Sr., F - Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)



Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Fr., F - North Reading, Mass.)



Matt Lorito, Brown (So., F - Oakville, Ontario, Canada)

Greg Miller, Cornell (Sr., F - Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

Tyler Sikura, Dartmouth (So., F - Aurora, Ontario, Canada)

*Andrew Calof, Princeton (Jr., F - Nepean, Ontario, Canada)

*Andrew Miller, Yale (Sr., F - Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)

Dennis Robertson, Brown (Jr., D - Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada)

Mike Keenan, Dartmouth (Sr., D - South Weymouth, Mass.)

Michael Sdao, Princeton (Sr., D - Niwot, Colo.)

Anthony Borelli, Brown (Sr., G - Grand Island, N.Y.)



Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Jr., F - Winnetka, Ill.)

Kenny Agostino, Yale (Jr., F - Flanders, N.J.)

Antoine Laganiere, Yale (Sr., F - Ile Cadieux, Quebec, Canada)

Joakim Ryan, Cornell (So., D - Rumson, N.J.)

Danny Biega, Harvard (Sr., D - Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

Mike Condon, Princeton (Sr., G - Needham, Mass.)

Jeff Malcolm, Yale (Sr., G - Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada)



Tommy Fallen, Yale (So., D - Plymouth, Minn.)

* Unanimous Selection

^ Due to ties in the voting, the first and second teams were expanded from six



1982 Dan Poliziani, F

1989 Mike O'Neill, G

1993 Mark Kaufmann, F

1998 Ray Giroux, F

1999 Jeff Hamilton, F

2001 Jeff Hamilton, F

2010  Sean Backman, F

2012  Brian O'Neill, F

2013  Andrew Miller, F


Filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director