Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Miller Named 2013 Mallory Award Recipient

Miller Named 2013 Mallory Award Recipient

All-American Skater Led Blue To National Championship


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The captain of the first Yale hockey team to win a national championship, Andrew Miller, has been named the winner of the 2013 William Neely Mallory Award, the most prestigious athletic award given to a senior male at Yale.


He scored the game-winning goal in overtime of the national semifinal, had a goal and an assist in the title contest - a 4-0 win over Quinnipiac - and was the 2013 Frozen Four Most Valuable Player just last month in Pittsburgh, Pa.


Those are the most recent highlights of an amazing collegiate career that spanned a school-record 141 games and included three national tournament appearances, an ECAC Hockey Tournament title, three Ivy League Championships and the 2013 Frozen Four title.


Miller, the third straight hockey player to earn the Mallory Award, was a two-time, first-team All-ECAC pick who earned CCM All-America honors this season while compiling a career-high 18 goals and 41 points. His 114 assists place him atop the school's career list, while his 156 points rank fifth at Yale.


"Andrew is an outstanding recipient of the Mallory Award.  While his individual accomplishments are impressive, Andrew's greatest achievements are team ones," said Keith Allain '80, Yale's Malcolm G. Chace Head Coach. "Andrew Miller is the ultimate team player.  He is a talented, dedicated, focused athlete who represented Yale with class and dignity on the greatest stage in college hockey."

He was named 2012-13 Ivy League Player of the Year while also garnering ECAC Hockey Player of the Month for March/April after accumulating six goals and 15 points during the most crucial games of the season. All of that helped Miller ink a contract with the Edmonton Oilers a few days after the national championship.

Miller, who was voted the "best passer" by his teammates the last three seasons, is a political science major in Yale's Branford College.



YEAR           STUDENT-ATHLETE                           SPORT

1953-54         Richard F. Polich                                    Football

1954-55         Philip H. Mathias                                    Football

1955-56         William P. Lovejoy                                 Football

1956-57         Stephen H. Ackerman                             Football

1957-58         Richard D. Wailes                                   Crew (Hwt)

1958-59         Gerard E. Jones                                       Hockey

1959-60         Richard A. Winkler                                 Football

1960-61         Howard A. Will, Jr.                                Football

1961-62         James E. Luck                                         Track

1962-63         William Wilson Hildebrand                    Baseball/Hockey

1963-64         George M. Humphrey II                         Football/Lax/Boxing

1964-65         Stephen E. Clark                                     Swimming

1965-66         James Grant Groninger                           Football/Lacrosse

1966-67         John Lewis Morrison                              Hockey

1967-68         Edward C. Goldstone                             Baseball/Basketball

1968-69         Brian J. Dowling                                     Football

1969-70         Kwaku Ohene-Frempong                       Track

1970-71         Thomas Brown Neville                           Football

1971-72         William Lawrence Story, Jr.                   Football/Lacrosse

1972-73         Richard Manual Jauron                           Football

1973-74         Timothy F. Karpoff                                Wrestling

1974-75         Rudolph H. Green                                  Football

1975-76         Neal Robert Brendel                               Wrestling

1976-77         Carnell Cooper                                        Basketball

1977-78         John L. Pagliaro                                      Football

1978-79         William C. Crowley                                Football

1979-80         Timothy M. Tumpane                             Football

1980-81         Kevin R. Czinger                                    Football

1981-82         Richard Diana                                         Football/Baseball

1982-83         Robert W. Brooke                                   Hockey/Baseball

1983-84         Earl G. Graves, Jr.                                   Basketball

1984-85         J. Peter Sawkins                                      Hockey/Soccer

1985-86         Hugh Owen LaBossier                           Squash

1986-87         Jeff Duback                                            Soccer

1987-88         Bernard "Kelly" Ryan                             Football

1988-89         Michael A. O'Neill                                  Ice Hockey

1989-90         Jonathan P. Reese                                   Football/Lacrosse

1990-91         James Gibson                                          Track & Cross-Country

1991-92         Edward Petersen                                     Basketball

1992-93         Rob Bonta                                               Soccer

1993-94         Matthew Levine                                      Track

1994-95         David Feuerstein                                     Baseball

1995-96         Daniel Thompson                                    Baseball

1996-97         Robert "Daniel" Chibuzo Okonkwo       Basketball

1997-98         Raymond Giroux                                    Men's Ice Hockey

1998-99         Alex Westlund                                        Men's Ice Hockey

1999-00         Joseph Walland                                       Football

2000-01         Eric Maxwell Johnson                             Football

2001-02         Thomas Lewis Hamaguchi Hocker         Track and Field

2002-03         Christopher Leanza                                 Basketball

2003-04         Nathan Lawrie                                        Football/Track

2004-05         Robert Carr                                             Football

2005-06         Julian Illingworth                                    Squash

2006-07         Edward McCarthy                                  Football

2007-08         Josh Cox                                                 Baseball

2008-09         Mike McLeod                                         Football

                      Alex Righi                                               Swimming

2009-10         Thomas Barrows                                     Co-ed Sailing

2010-11         Broc Little                                               Men's Ice Hockey

2011-12         Brian O'Neill                                          Men's Ice Hockey

2012-13         Andrew Miller                                        Men's Ice Hockey



filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director


John Hassett image of Andrew Miller at Frozen Four