Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Turn Page for 2013-14

Jesse Root on the fore-check
Jesse Root on the fore-check


NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Bulldogs may have won the NCAA Championship last April, but the 2013-14 Yale Men's Hockey team has turned the page on the special accomplishment. The Elis, who suit up a mix of experienced and talented skaters, have their immediate sights set on ECAC Hockey and building their own credentials. Here is a look at the 2013-14 team.



A dozen forwards who combined for 71 goals last winter return to the fold in 2013-14 highlighted by senior captain Jesse Root (12-11-23) and classmate Kenny Agostino (17-24-41). Root, who scored the OT winner against Minnesota in the first game of the NCAA Tournament, earned West Regional All-Tournament honors last March. Agostino (Calgary Flames), one of the most exciting players in college hockey, was second-team All-ECAC and joined Root on the All-West Regional squad. Senior Clinton Bourbonais (4-13-17) also had a solid season highlighted by the game-winning goal in the national championship contest that led to his selection on the Frozen Four All-Tournament squad.

Four juniors made a big impact last season. Anthony Day (1-4-5) scored a big goal against North Dakota in the NCAA Regional Final. Trent Ruffolo (7-6-13) led the class of 2015 in goals and points, while Nicholas Weberg (4-7-11) improved his numbers from his freshman year.

Last year's rookies combined for 12 goals and 26 points led by Stu Wilson (9-8-17), who had two game-winning goals, including an OT tally at Cornell. Carson Cooper (1-5-6) tallied the winner at Princeton in a 4-3 decision. Charles Orzetti (2-1-3) also scored in the big moments, finding the net in the 2013 national championship contest. Matthew Beattie (Vancouver Canucks) and Cody Learned were key support players.

Five newcomers with a variety of skills will compete for ice time: Tim Bonner (Tri City), Frankie DiChiara (Dubuque), Mike Doherty (Middlesex), John Hayden (US National Team) and Chris Izmirlian (Middlesex).



Six blueliners from last winter are back, including senior Gus Young (2-7-9, Colorado Avalanche), who has been a mainstay for three seasons.

Two juniors, Tommy Fallen (7-16-23) and Matt Killian (0-6-6) were also significant in last year's success. Fallen led the D-men in goals and points, while Killian moved to forward during the post-season and made big contributions to the title run. Alex Ward contributed seven games played last season and will be in the competition for ice time.


Three 2012-13 freshmen looked more like upper classmen at the end of last year. Ryan Obuchowski (3-9-12) earned freshman MVP honors, while Rob O'Gara (0-7-7, Boston Bruins) was a big presence in Yale's end of the rink. Mitch Witek (1-3-4) made an impact in his first season and returns with plenty of experience.

Freshman Dan O'Keefe (Surrey) should also compete for a spot in the lineup.



Junior Connor Wilson, who had three decisions last winter and has been a backup the last two seasons, is the lone returnee between the pipes. He will get competition from a pair of newcomers, Alex Lyon (Omaha) and Patrick Spano (Cowichan Valley).


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director