5 Bulldogs Make All-Ivy

5 Bulldogs Make All-Ivy

Root On 1st Team, Lyon co-Rookie of Year

PRINCETON, NJ – Five Yale players earned All-Ivy League honors today as the ECAC Hockey Playoffs begin with first-round, best-of-three series at campus arenas. Captain Jesse Root was a first-team pick, while Kenny Agostino, Gus Young and Rob O'Gara earned second-team honors. Alex Lyon, who earned Ivy League co-Rookie of the Year, was honorable mention all-league.

Root, who led all league scorers in Ivy games with 15 points and 1.88 points per game, did that despite missing a pair of contests. The senior Eli forward, whose squad faces Harvard tonight in game one of the playoffs, currently leads his team overall with 13 goals and 31 points. Root was one of two players who were unanimous first-team selections.

Agostino, a senior forward, is the Ivy leader with seven goals in league games. He is third in points with 13. The Calgary Flames' property is tied with Root for the Yale lead with 13 goals overall, while Agostino is second with 28 points.

All three Yale seniors, who have garnered numerous honors over their four seasons, earned All-Ivy accolades today. Young, a defenseman, is enjoying his most offensive collegiate campaign with six goals and 17 points overall. His point total is tied for third on the squad. Young had five points in 10 Ivy games.

O'Gara, a sophomore blueliner who had not earned a league award prior to this, progressed at both ends of the rink in his second season. He has four goals and 10 points overall this winter.

Lyon is Yale's first Ivy Hockey Rookie of the Year since Sean Backman in 2007. He had a 2.70 goals against average and a .906 save percentage while playing in nine of the 10 league games. Lyon shared the rookie of the year honor with a guy who will be shooting pucks at him tonight, Crimson forward Sean Malone.



Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Jr., F – Jacksonville, Fla.)

Andrew Ammon, Princeton (Sr., F – Aldie, Va.)

Jesse Root, Yale (Sr., F – Pittsburgh, Pa.)*

Dennis Robertson, Brown (Sr., D, Fort St. John, BC)

Joakim Ryan, Cornell (Jr., D – Rumson, N.J.)*

Andy Iles, Cornell (Sr., G – Ithaca, N.Y.)



Matt Lorito, Brown (Jr., F – Oakville, Ont.)

Erin Neiley, Dartmouth (Jr., F – Warminster, Pa.)

Jim Vesey, Harvard (So., F – North Reading, Mass.)

Ken Agostino, Yale (Sr. F – Flanders, N.J.)

Rob O'Gara, Yale (So., D – Nesconset, N.Y.) 

Gus Young, Yale (Sr., D – Dedham, Mass.)

Charles Grant, Dartmouth (So., G – Berwick, Nova Scotia)



Nick Lappin, Brown (So., F – Geneva, Ill.)

John McCarron, Cornell (Jr., F – Macomb, Mich.)

Sean Malone, Harvard (Fr. F – West Seneca, N.Y.)

Tyler Steel, Brown (Fr., G – Kelowna, BC)

Raphael Girard, Harvard (Sr., G - Saint–Hyacinthe, Que.)

Alex Lyon, Yale (Fr., G – Baudette, Minn.)



Andy Iles, Cornell (Sr., G – Ithaca, N.Y.)



Sean Malone, Harvard (Fr., F – West Seneca, N.Y.)

Alex Lyon, Yale (Fr., G – Baudette, Minn.)


* Unanimous Selection

^ Due to ties in the voting, second team was expanded to seven



filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director


image by dspics.com