Arcobello Named All-New England

Arcobello Named All-New England

April 2, 2009

The New England Hockey Writers All-Star teams and awards for men's division I were released today, and Yale junior forward Mark Arcobello (Milford, Conn.) was named to the first-team All-New England.

Arcobello, who had a point in 14 of the last 17 games and was named first-team All-ECAC, led the Blue with 35 points, including the second most (17) goals. He was second in Division I with seven game-winners this winter.

He was ECAC Hockey Player of the Week on March 2 after netting the game-winning goal and three assists in Yale's 4-2 win over Cornell at home that clinched the regular-season title on Feb. 27. Arcobello helped the Elis to a school-record 24 wins, two regular-season conference titles and Yale's first ECAC Tournament Championship

The New England All-Star teams and special award winners will be presented on April 13 at the annual awards banquet at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. Anyone interested in attending the dinner should contact John Gruppo at (617) 373-7409.

2008-09 New England Men's Div. I All-Stars


Kieran Millan, Boston University

Brad Thiessen, Northeastern


Alex Biega, Harvard

Maury Edwards, UMass Lowell

Matt Gilroy, Boston University

Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University


Mark Arcobello, Yale

Brock Bradford, Boston College

James Marcou, Massachusetts

Viktor Stålberg, Vermont

Colin Wilson, Boston University

James van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire

2008-09 New England Hockey Awards

Clark Hodder Award - Div. I Coach of the Year: Greg Cronin, Northeastern

Leonard Fowle Award - Most Valuable Player: Brad Thiessen, Northeastern

George C. Carens Award - Rookie of the Year: Kieran Millan, Boston University

Herb Gallagher Award - Best Forward: Colin Wilson, Boston University

Bob Monahan Award - Best Defenseman: Matt Gilroy, Boston University

Paul Hines Award - Most Improved Player: Viktor Stålberg, Vermont

Frank Jones Award - Best Defensive Forward: Joe Vitale, Northeastern

Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero: Matt Vokes, Brown

Parker/York Award - Contribution to New England Hockey: John Dunham, Trinity