Gibson On Tewaarton Award List

Matt Gibson (Dave Burbank)
Matt Gibson (Dave Burbank)

Junior Attackman Considered For Top Lax Honor

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Matt Gibson, a junior attackman on the Yale lacrosse team, has been included in the 2011 Tewaarton Award Watch List.  The Greater Washington Sports Alliance just announced its list, made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse.

All watch list nominees are carefully screened and identified by a committees comprised of college coaches. The watch list will eventually be whittled down three more times until the top 10 male  Tewaaraton Award Finalists are named in May of 2011.

Gibson, last year's New England Player of the Year and a 2010 second-team All-Ivy pick, had a goal and an assist in Yale's Feb. 26 season opener at St. John's. He sat out last week's two home games with an injury. He has 47 career goals and 77 points.

"We are thrilled to announce this year's watch list just as the 2011 season is getting underway," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The selection committees have done an outstanding job at choosing the top contenders for the Tewaaraton Award across the country. This year's list represents 47 different educational institutions from over 17 conferences and 48 of these athletes are repeat nominees from last year."

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, DC and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.   

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2 at the historical Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at


Official Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Stefan Bauer, Lafayette College

Peter Baum, Colgate University

Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina

Chris Bocklet, University of Virginia

Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy

Sam Bradman, Salisbury State University

Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia

Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame

Jay Card, Hofstra University

Grant Catalino, University of Maryland

Matt Chadderdon, Le Moyne College

Jake Clarke, Bucknell University

Tom Compitello, Stony Brook University

CJ Costabile, Duke University

Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University

Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson University

Chris DeLuca, State University of New York Cortland

Jimmy Dunster, University of North Carolina

David Earl, University of Notre Dame

Barney Ehrmann, Georgetown University

Peter Fallon, Brown University

Brian Farrell, University of Maryland

Tyler Fiorito, Princeton University

Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina

John Galloway, Syracuse University

Dean Gibbons, Harvard University

Matt Gibson, Yale University

Bill Henderson, United States Military Academy

DJ Hessler, Tufts University

Dan Hostetler, Georgetown University

Zach Howell, Duke University

Brett Hughes, University of Pennsylvania

Brian Karalunas, Villanova University

Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University

John Lade, Syracuse University

Jamie Lincoln, Hofstra University

Matt Mackrides, Pennsylvania State University

Mark Manos, Drexel University

JoJo Marasco, Syracuse University

Kiel Matisz, Robert Morris University

Jack McBride, Princeton University

Jordan McBride, Stony Brook University

Peter Mezzanotte, Towson University

Rickey Mirabito, Georgetown University

Rob Pannell, Cornell University

Tom Perini, Lafayette College

Adam Rand, Stony Brook University

Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame

Brett Schmidt, University of Maryland

Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia

Charlie Streep, Bucknell University

Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse University

Justin Tuma, Roanoke College

Justin Turri, Duke University

Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton University

Kyle Wharton, Johns Hopkins University

Joel White, Syracuse University

Ryan Young, University of Maryland