Two Bulldogs on Tewaaraton Watch List

Matt Gibson (Dave Burbank)
Matt Gibson (Dave Burbank)

Gibson, Mahony Up For National Honor

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yale seniors Matt Gibson (Point Lookout, NY) and Gregory Mahony (Mercer Island, Wash.) officially have been named to the "Watch List" for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, handed out to the top lacrosse player in the country.

Gibson, an attackman who earned All-America honors in 2011, is also a pre-season selection as Yale's returning top scorer. Another Yale offensive weapon, Mahony finds the net from his midfield position. Both players are two-time All-Ivy and All-New England selections who were taken in the 2012 MLL collegiate draft.

The Tewaaraton Award, handed out by the University Club of Washington, D.C., was formally established in August of 2000. The Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora.

To honor the heritage of the sport, the Award presents two annual scholarships to students of American Indian decent. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse players and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse.

2012 Watch List

Sean Aaron, Goalie - Union College
Brent Adams, Midfield - Fairfield University
Andrew Barton, Midfield - Providence College
Pierce Bassett, Goalie - Johns Hopkins University
Peter Baum, Midfield - Colgate University
Carter Bender, Attack - University of Hartford
Anthony Biscardi, Midfield - University of Massachusetts
Ian Braddish, Midfield - Hofstra University
Sam Bradman, Midfield - Salisbury University
Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia
Fergus Campbell, Goalie - Dartmouth College
Charlie Cipriano, Goalie - Fairfield University
Travis Comeau, Attack - Georgetown University
CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University
Kevin Cunningham, Attack - Villanova University
Bobby Dattilo, Midfield/Face Off - Hobart College
Nikk Davis, Midfield - United States Naval Academy
Tim Desko, Attack - Syracuse University
Daniel DiMaria, Defense/LSM - Harvard University
Billy Eisenreich, Attack - Bucknell University
Dante Fantoni, Attack - Lehigh University
Kyle Feeney, Goalie - Bucknell University
Tyler Fiorito, Goalie - Princeton University
Nick Galasso, Attack - University of North Carolina
Matt Gibson, Attack - Yale University
Rob Grimm, Attack - University of Maryland Baltimore County
Tim Henderson, Defense - United States Military Academy
Curtis Holmes, Midfield - University of Maryland
Shayne Jackson, Attack - Limestone College
Sam Jones, Attack - United States Naval Academy
Grant Kaleikau, Attack - University of Delaware
Austin Kaut, Goalie - Penn State University
Jeff Keating, Attack - Roanoke College
Micah Keller, Attack - Hampden-Sydney College
John Kemp, Goalie - University of Notre Dame
Roy Lang, Midfield - Cornell University
Chris LaPierre, Midfield - University of Virginia
Joe Lisicky, Defense - Lynchburg College
Jeffrey Lowman, Goalie - St. John's University
Matt Mackrides, Attack - Penn State University
Greg Mahony, Midfield - Yale University
Mark Manos, Goalie - Drexel University
JoJo Marasco, Midfield/Attack - Syracuse University
Kiel Matisz, Midfield - Robert Morris University
Mark Matthews, Attack - University of Denver
Joel Matthews, Attack - University of Detroit Mercy
Jack McBride, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina
Kevin McCormick, Midfield - Tufts University
Brian Megill, Defense - Syracuse University
Bryan Neufeld, Attack - Siena College
Chris Nourse, Defense - Georgetown University
Robert Pannell, Attack - Cornell University
Mason Poli, Defense - Bryant University
John Ranagan, Midfield - Johns Hopkins University
Joe Resetarits, Attack - University at Albany
Connor Rice, Attack - Marist College
Jack Rice, Attack - Villanova University
Stephen Robarge, Midfield/Face Off - Virginia Military Institute
Dan Savage, Midfield - University of Pennsylvania
Michael Sawyer, Attack - Loyola University
Rob Schlesinger, Midfield - Brown University
Tom Schreiber, Midfield - Princeton University
Logan Schuss, Attack - Ohio State University
Steve Serling, Midfield - Hofstra University
Ryan Snyder, Face Off - Lehigh University
Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia
Garrett Thul, Attack - United States Military Academy
Jeff Tundo, Attack - Stony Brook University
Justin Turri, Midfield - Duke University
Kevin Vaughan, Midfield - Harvard University
Joe Vitale, Midfield - Adelphi University
Ben Waldron, Long Stick Midfield - Binghamton University
Chad Wiedmaier, Defense - Princeton University