Gibson Picked For Champion Challenge

Matt Gibson  (photo by Don Clark '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Matt Gibson (photo by Don Clark '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Former Yale Star a Team USA Member


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – After an All-American career at Yale, he became a star member of the Long Island Lizards and Major League Lacrosse's 2012 Rookie of the Year. Matt Gibson '12 has added another milestone to his storied athletic career. The former high-scoring Bulldog attackman has been selected by the U.S. Men's National Team for the Jan. 27 Champion Challenge.

Gibson and 37 others will compete against defending NCAA champion Loyola at Champion® Challenge, a US Lacrosse event scheduled for 1:30 p.m. EST at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

"Being selected to represent the US is a huge honor for me. It gives me a chance to compete for a spot in the World Games, so it's a big step for me as a player.  I've always wanted to have this chance," said Gibson. 

This eighth annual challenge is the first in which the men's Team USA take on the defending NCAA champions. Team USA also will square off against 2012 NCAA semifinalist Notre Dame on Jan. 26, with Jacksonville University also scheduled to participate in the event. All of these contests will help team officials select a group to tryout for the 2014 U.S. National Team.

"I will have the chance to play alongside some of the games best.  I'm pretty excited about the opportunity, and I'm proud to be representing Yale in such a way."


Click here to see Gibson's ball tricks


U.S. Men's National Team Roster  


Billy Bitter, Rochester Rattlers, North Carolina
Grant Catalino, Long Island Lizards, Maryland
Matt Danowski, Charlotte Hounds, Duke
Matt Gibson, Long Island Lizards, Yale
Mike Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse*
Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts
Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia^
Chazz Woodson, Ohio Machine, Brown


Sam Bradman, LXM Pro Tour, Salisbury
Steven Brooks, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse
Steven DeNapoli, Rochester Rattlers, Hofstra
Benson Erwin, N/A, Johns Hopkins
Graham Gill, LXM Pro Tour, Navy
Kyle Harrison, LXM Pro Tour, Johns Hopkins#
Ben Hunt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, North Carolina
Cameron Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh
Roman Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh
Peet Poillon, Charlotte Hounds, UMBC
Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*
Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland
Kevin Unterstein, Long Island Lizards, Hofstra


CJ Costabile, Long Island Lizards, Duke^
Ryan Flanagan, Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina
Kyle Hartzell, Ohio Machine, Salisbury
Brian Karalunas, Long Island Lizards, Villanova
John Lade, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse^
Eric Martin, Denver Outlaws, Salisbury*
Kevin Ridgway, N/A, Notre Dame
Dillon Roy, Denver Outlaws, Denver
Brett Schmidt, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland
Michael Simon, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Stevenson
Chad Wiedmaier, Hamilton Nationals, Princeton
Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Jordan Burke, Boston Cannons, Brown
John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse
Scott Rodgers, Hamilton Nationals, Notre Dame


Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate
Alex Smith, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Delaware*

* 2010 U.S. men's national team member
# 2006 U.S. men's national team member
^ 2008 U.S. men's national under-19 team member


Filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director