Mangan Named Tewaaraton Award Nominee

Brandon Mangan. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Brandon Mangan. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Junior Attackman Leads Blue in Scoring

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Junior Brandon Mangan (Wantagh, NY.) has been named a Tewaaraton Award Nominee by the Tewaaraton Foundation. There are 25 nominees for the top player in men's lacrosse this season and five will be selected on May 30 as finalists.

Mangan, an All-America candidate, leads the Bulldogs in points (52), goals (30) and assists (22), and is seventh in Division 1 in points per game with 4.33.

He recorded his 100th career point against Stony Brook this month and has been named Ivy League Player of the Week twice this season.

Yale's active career goal leader, Mangan started 28 games over his first two years, earning Ivy Honor Roll twice last spring before catching fire in the postseason and tallying seven goals.

The men's award nominees include players from 20 schools, including 2012 winner Peter Baum (Colgate) and representatives from 16 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 USILA Men's Division I Poll. Five schools had two players nominated, including Albany (Lyle Thompson, Ty Thompson), Cornell (Steve Mock, 2011 finalist Rob Pannell), Loyola (Scott Ratliff, 2012 finalist Mike Sawyer), Maryland (Niko Amato, Jesse Bernhardt) and Syracuse (JoJo Marasco, Brian Megill).

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. This is The Year of the Mohawk and the men's nominees include a member of the Akwesasne Mohawk Nation in Ty Thompson and a member of the Onondaga Nation in his cousin Lyle Thompson. 


Men's nominees:


Niko Amato, Maryland - Jr., GK

Peter Baum, Colgate - Sr., A

Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland - Sr., LSM

David DiMaria, Lehigh - Sr., A

Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins - Sr., D

John Glesener, Army - Soph., A/M

Marcus Holman, North Carolina - Sr., A

Austin Kaut, Penn State - Jr., GK

John Kemp, Notre Dame - Sr., GK

Eric Law, Denver - Sr., A

Brandon Mangan, Yale - Jr., A

JoJo Marasco, Syracuse - Sr., M

Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Jr., A

Brian Megill, Syracuse - Sr., D

Steve Mock, Cornell - Sr., A

Rob Pannell, Cornell - Sr., A

Mason Poli, Bryant - Sr., LSM

Scott Ratliff, Loyola - Sr., LSM

Mike Sawyer, Loyola - Sr., A

Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Jr., M

Logan Schuss, Ohio State - Sr., A

Lyle Thompson, Albany - Soph., A

Ty Thompson, Albany - Jr., A

Dillon Ward, Bellarmine - Sr., GK

Jordan Wolf, Duke - Jr., A


filed by Steve Conn, Yale Sports Publicity Director