3 Bulldogs Make All-Ivy

3 Bulldogs Make All-Ivy

May 10, 2009

Three members of the Yale men's lacrosse team were selected for the 2009 All-Ivy League team announced today. Michael Karwoski (Greenlawn, N.Y.), Will Gano (Summit, N.J.) and Brendan Gibson (Pt. Lookout, N.Y.) made one of the three Ancient Eight squads.

Karwoski and Gano were second-team selections, while Gibson was named honorable mention All-Ivy.

Karwoski, a senior midfielder who was Yale's offensive MVP this spring, led the Bulldogs with 29 goals and 40 points. He had a point in 12 of the 13 games, including a pair of five-goal outings. He was named Ivy League Player of the Week after tallying six points in a 14-13 OT win at Penn on March 14.

Gano started all 13 games of Yale's 5-8 campaign and had 18 ground balls. The senior longstick midfielder was a key part of the Bulldogs' defensive scheme. He covered each opponent's top offensive threat and was named Yale's defensive player of the year.

Gibson, a junior attackman, started every game and had a team-high 12 assists. Gibson, named Yale's most valuable player this spring, was second with 23 goals and 35 points, including a point in every game. His best game of 2009 was a four-goal, five-point day at Duke on March 8.

2009 All-Ivy League Men's Lacrosse Team



Thomas Muldoon, Brown

Rob Pannell, Cornell

Jack McBride, Princeton


John Glynn, Cornell

*Max Seibald, Cornell

Mark Kovler, Princeton


Peter Fallon, Brown

Matt Moyer, Cornell

Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton

Goalie *Jordan Burke, Brown

* unanimous selection



Andrew Feinberg, Brown

Ryan Hurley, Cornell

Craig Andrzjewski, Penn

Tom Davis, Princeton


Jason Duboe, Harvard

Rich Sgalardi, Princeton

Mike Karwoski, Yale


Casey Hingtgen, Dartmouth

Sam Slaughter, Harvard

Will Gano, Yale


Tyler Fiorito, Princeton



Jeff Cohen, Harvard

Dean Gibbons, Harvard

Brendan Gibson, Yale


Brady Williams, Brown

Drew Collins, Penn

Scott Mackenzie, Princeton


Billy Geist, Harvard

Chris Peyser, Princeton


Jake Myers, Cornell

PLAYER OF THE YEAR Jordan Burke, Brown

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR Rob Pannell, Cornell

Release filed by Steve Conn, Yale Associate AD & Sports Publicity Director