Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lachenbruch Elected 2014 Captain

Conner Lachenbruch. (photo by Sam Rubin 95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Conner Lachenbruch. (photo by Sam Rubin 95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Five Others Honored With Team Awards

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Conner Lachenbruch, who started 16 games in the midfield this fall, has been elected captain of the 2014 Yale men's soccer team. The announcement was made recently following a team vote.

"Being elected captain means the world to me," said Lachenbruch, a San Diego, Calif., native. "It is an extreme honor to be recognized by the group of men whose trust and respect I value more than anyone else. I hope to bring an infectious attitude of hard work and dedication along with an insatiable desire to win."

Lachenbruch, who served as captain of his club and high school teams, has started 32 games over the last two years. This fall, he appeared in all 17 games and scored two goals. As a sophomore, he was the recipient of the team's Frank Dunne Awards as the most improved player.

"I'm pleased for Conner that the team has chosen to elect him as their next captain and leader," said Yale head coach Brian Tompkins. "His team-first work ethic and his drive will inspire his teammates and make him the ideal role model both on and off the soccer field."

Lachenbruch will be one of only four seniors on next year's roster, joining Peter Ambiel, Blake Brown and Kevin Michalak.

"I will rely on the other rising seniors to be my right hand men who exemplify the mindset we want to pervade the team," Lachenbruch said. "Although we are small in numbers, I have complete confidence in the individual and collective ability of our class to make an outstanding impact on our program."

Lachenbruch said he has learned a great deal from the captains during his tenure – Chris Dennen '12, Bobby Thalman '13 and Max McKiernan, this fall's leader.

"Each impacted my life on and off the field to an indescribable extent," Lachenbruch said. "Each one of them has made me appreciate the gravity of a captain's role and most importantly his ability to inspire his teammates."

The team awards also were announced. McKiernan was the recipient of the Walter Leemann Trophy, awarded to that senior member of the varsity team who, by sportsmanship and team play, upholds the ideals of Walter Leemann.

The Jack Marshall Award was presented to senior Tucker Kocher. It is awarded by the Yale Soccer Association to the member of the team who demonstrated the qualities of team spirit, loyalty to his fellow players and dedication to the game.

Sophomore Lukas Czinger received the Frank Dunne Award, presented annually to the member of the team who, in the judgment of the coaches, has exhibited the greatest improvement throughout the course of the season.

Freshman Ryan Simpson was the recipient of the Bob "Doc" Holliday Unsung Hero Award. It is presented to the squad member who regardless of playing opportunity or personal recognition has consistently demonstrated a selfless commitment, a positive attitude and has contributed to team spirit in ways that have improved the well-being of the Yale Soccer program.

The Walter J. McNerney Award, presented to the most valuable player as selected by the coaching staff, was presented to senior Cody Wilkins.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity