Guzinski, Jackson Named Second Team All-Ivy

Guzinski, Jackson Named Second Team All-Ivy

Nov. 19, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Senior defenders Alex Guzinski and Markus Jackson, who helped the Yale men's soccer team post seven shutouts and allow just 17 goals this season, were both named second team All-Ivy. In addition, forward Aden Farina-Henry and midfielder Andy Hackbarth earned honorable mention recognition.

Guzinski, the team captain, was one of only three players to start all 17 games. He scored one of the prettiest goals of the season on a header off a corner kick against Boston College and also had assists in victories over Maine and Stony Brook. Guzinski also earned second team honors last year as a junior. He is a native of Palo Alto, Calif.

Jackson, an Augusta, Ga., native, appeared in all 17 games and started 16. He has been a mainstay on Yale's backline since the day he arrived in New Haven in 2005.

Alex Guzinski (Sam Rubin photo)

Farina-Henry, a sophomore, earned All-Ivy recognition despite being limited to six games because of injury. He led the team with four goals, which came in the final three games of the season, all against Ivy opponents. Two of his goals were game-winners, and he scored the tying goal in the second half in a 2-2 tie with Princeton in the season finale. He is a native of Eugene, Ore.

Hackbarth, who was limited to 12 games because of injury, made an immediate impact in the midfield as a freshman for the Bulldogs. His two goals tied for third on the team, and he also added one assist. He is a native of Bend, Ore.

Yale finished the season with a 7-7-3 overall record and a 3-3-1 Ivy mark. Eight of the Bulldogs' opponents went on to qualify for the NCAA College Cup.

2008 All-Ivy Men's Soccer

First Team All-Ivy (11)
*Andre Akpan, Harvard (Jr., F, Grand Prairie, Texas)
Mike Fucito, Harvard (Sr., F, Westford, Mass.)
*Lucky Mkosana, Dartmouth (Fr., F, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe)
Omid Shokoufandeh (Sr., F, Los Angeles, Calif.)
*Alex Grendi, Penn (Sr., M, Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.)
*Craig Henderson, Dartmouth (Sr., M, Wellington, New Zealand)
*John Stamatis, Harvard (Sr., M, Mountainside, N.J.)
*Rhett Bernstein, Brown (Sr., D, San Diego, Calif.)
Matt Care, Princeton (Sr., Newtown, Pa.)
Kwaku Nyamekye, Harvard (Jr., D, Geneva, Switzerland)
Sean Milligan, Dartmouth (Sr., GK, Westport, Conn.)

Player of the Year
*Craig Henderson, Dartmouth (Sr., M, Wellington, New Zealand)

Rookie of the Year
*Lucky Mkosana, Dartmouth (Fr., F, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe)

* - Unanimous selection

Second Team All-Ivy (12)
Bayo Adafin, Columbia (So., Rochester, Minn.)
Antoine Hoppenot, Princeton (Fr., F, Princeton, N.J.)
Nick Elenz-Martin, Brown (Jr., Encinitas, Calif.)
Brian Mascarenhas, Penn (Sr., M, Marietta, Ga.)
Devin Muntz, Princeton (Jr., M, Macungie, Pa.)
Andrew Olsen, Dartmouth (So., M, Norwell, Mass.)
Markus Jackson, Yale (Sr., D, Augusta, Ga.)

Pumi Maqubela, Dartmouth (Jr., Andover, Mass.)
Joe Yonga, Cornell (Sr, D, Brooklyn Park, Minn.)
Alex Guzinski, Yale (Sr., D, Palo Alto, Calif.)

Ben Burton, Princeton (So., Minneapolis, Minn.)
Drew Healy, Penn (Sr., GK, Wilmington, Del.)

Honorable Mention (14)
F - Matt Bouraee, Cornell (Jr., Manasquan, N.J.); Aden Farina-Henry, Yale (So., Eugene, Ore.).
M - Pepe Carotenuto, Columbia (So., Scottsdale, Ariz.); Dan McKallagat, Cornell (Sr., Groton, Mass.); Kevin Unger, Penn (Fr., Menomonee Falls, Wisc.); Andy Hackbarth, Yale (Bend, Ore.).
D - Stephen Sawyer, Brown (Sr., Coppell, Texas); Bryan Giudicelli, Dartmouth (So., Emerald Hills, Calif.); Donnie Surdoval, Dartmouth (Jr., Sparta, N.J.); Luke Sager, Harvard (Sr., Farmington, Conn.); John Elicker (Sr., West Chester, Pa.); Jake Levin, Penn (Fr., Columbia, Md.); Ryan Porch, Penn (Sr., Marlton, N.J.).
GK- Jarrett Leech, Brown (Sr., Manakin-Sabot, Va.)