Plimpton Wins Molloy Cup

Christopher Plimpton.
Christopher Plimpton.

NEW HAVEN, Conn - Junior Christopher Plimpton won two matches on Sunday to become the 2010 Molloy Cup champion.

Plimpton began the day by defeating Danny Greenberg of Penn in four games in his semifinal match.  In the championship, Plimpton faced Jason Michas of Harvard, winning in five close games. 

The Molloy Cup represents the B Division National Championship for players ranked 33rd and higher.  This year's field featured 48 players, including three Bulldogs.  Plimpton won five matches in three days to claim the title. 


Molloy Cup


Plimpton (Yale) def. Greenberg (Penn): 11-8,11-4,8-11,11-9


Plimpton def. Michas (Harvard): 9-11,11-8,11-4,9-11,11-9


report filed by Alex Milvae '12, Yale Sports Publicity