Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Announce Team Award Winners, Honor Seniors

Arjun Kochhar. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Arjun Kochhar. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- The Yale men's squash team announced the 2017-18 Special Recognition Awards at the annual team banquet, which was held the last week of April.  With rising senior Jay Losty (Philadelphia, Pa.) being named Yale captain for 2018-19, the banquet honored the current seniors in addition to the award winners. Captain Thomas Kingshott (Greenwich, Conn.) led a group of six seniors who are graduating with a National Championship and an Ivy Title in their resume.  These six were a tight group who propelled Yale to the national title two years ago and also experienced an incredibly competitive Ivy League. Kingshott and classmates Pierson Broadwater (Bronxville, N.Y.), Tripp Kaelin (Boston, Mass.), Arjun Kochhar (Mumbai, India), Max Martin (New Haven, Conn.) and Nader Rastegar (Westport, Conn.) left their mark on the program with what they accomplished these past four years.

It was an emotional banquet.  All 16 players gave a short comment about the season, lessons learned, and the seniors.  

"This for many reasons was a very emotional evening," Dave Talbott, Yale's Brooks G. Ragen Director of Squash at Yale, said. "Despite the disappointing season this year, these guys bought home the first National Championship in over two decades their sophomore year.  I cannot say enough about these six guys on and off the court.

"And most important for their families, they all have good jobs and and great pathways leaving Yale. They are not moving home," joked the long-time head coach.

The seniors are enjoying this final week together in New Haven, culminating with Commencement on Monday. The Athletics Department will hold its annual Senior Student-Athlete Reception on Saturday afternoon in the Lanman Center at Payne Whitney Gym.


2017-18 Yale Men's Squash Awards


John Blum Award
Most Improved Player
First Year Harrison Gill (Darien, Conn.)


Steve Gurney Award
Personal Growth
Senior Nader Rastegar (Westport, Conn.)


Howard Wilkens Award
Ambassador to Squash
Sophomore Spencer Lovejoy (Branford, Conn.)


Skillman Associates Award
Rising Player
First Year Jacob Rhee (Englewood Cliffs, N.J.)


John F. Skillman Award
Senior Contribution
Senior Arjun Kochhar (Mumbai, India)