Bulldogs Honor Six At Postseason Banquet

Goksu Bicer. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Goksu Bicer. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's swimming and diving team handed out its 2009-2010 awards last week at its annual postseason banquet.  Six different Elis earned recognition for their efforts in Robert J.H. Kiphuth Director of Swimming Frank Keefe's 32nd and final year at the program's helm.

Sophomore Goksu Bicer took home the Heaton High Point Award, an honor given to that swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. Bicer proved a versatile swimmer for the Bulldogs, but racked up most of his points in the 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard butterfly and 100-yard freestyle, in addition to those he earned as a member of several Yale relay squads.

Senior Craig Steen was one of two Elis to take home multiple awards, earning both the William Leeming Jelliffe Award and the M. Davies award. The Jelliffe recognizes that senior who has shown the most development in his swimming ability and outstanding leadership during his college years. The Davies award honors the top breaststroker amongst Bulldog swimmers. Steen was a force in the 100- and 200- yard breaststroke throughout the season, as well as one of the Elis' top contributors in medley relay competition.

Junior Matt Lee was the other Bulldog to be honored twice at the banquet, as he received the Harry Burke Award and the Moriarty Award. The Burke award was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassman. It honors Yale's former freshman swim coach. The Moriarty is given in honor of Phil Moriarty.

Senior diver Drew Teer, who battled injury to deliver a strong senior season that included a trip to NCAA Zones competition in March, was honored with the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. The trophy was established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S in memory of Kenneth MacLeish '18, who was killed in World War I. It is awarded to that member of the Yale swimming team, who through his efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.

Freshman Jared Lovett earned the Tim Jecko award, which is awarded annually to a member of the men's Team and the women's Team for outstanding performances in the individual medley. It was established in 2004 in honor of Tim Jecko '59 by the Yale Class of 1959. Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in freestyle, butterfly and the individual medley.

Finally, senior captain Tom Robinson was recognized with the S. Livingston Mather Award, donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905, and awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming. Robinson capped a tremendous four-year career with a stellar senior season before handing the reigns off to next season's captain, junior Kyle Veatch, who will lead the Elis into the 2010-2011 season and a new era of Yale Swimming. 

Report Filed By Chelsea Janes '12, Yale Sports Publicity.