Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis to Kick Off Season at Princeton-Farnsworth Tournament

Erik Blumenkranz. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Erik Blumenkranz. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale men's tennis team will kick off its 2011-12 season this Friday at the Princeton-Farnsworth Invitational in Princeton, N.J. The weekend-long tournament will hosts five singles draws in Princeton's Jadwin Gymnasium and Lenz Tennis Center.

Yale will face competition from nine schools: Binghamton, Buffalo, Columbia, Cornell, Fairleigh Dickinson, Penn, Penn State, Princeton, St. John's. There are five draws, ranking from A-E in order of difficulty, and each contains 16 players. Juniors Marc Powers, John Huang, and Daniel Hoffman will all compete in the "A" singles draw. Powers, who is seeded No. 2, will face Eugen Brazdil from Penn. Huang and Hoffman are not seeded, and will play Vasco Mladenov from St. Johns and Wotjek Starakiwiecz from Buffalo, respectively.  Senior captain Erik Blumenkranz will play in the "B" singles draw. Senior Joel Samaha has been seeded No. 2 in the "C" singles draw. Bulldog freshmen Zachary Krumholz  and Daniel Faierman will represent Yale in the "D" singles draw, and Krumholz will play the draws No. 1 seed in the first round. Freshman Matt Saiontz will compete in the "E" singles draw, facing the No. 2 seed in the first round.

Last year,  Powers, the No. 1 seed in the A draw, finished second in the tournament after dropping the finals to Penn State's Eddie Bourchier. Junior Zachary Dean and sophomore Tommy Ratchford also made the finals of the doubles in the C draw, but lost an 8-4 pro set to a team from Buffalo.

This year's Bulldog team has experience on its side, returning five of six rostered singles players from last year. Furthermore, Yale will retain its top three singles players, Powers, Huang, and Hoffman. All three were honored with All-Ivy selections, with Powers earning First Team All-Ivy in singles and doubles, Huang earning Second Team All-Ivy in singles, and Hoffman earning Second Team All-Ivy in singles and First Team All-Ivy in doubles. Led by Blumenkranz, the Bulldogs will welcome three freshman to the squad, Daniel Faierman (Del Mar, C.A.) and Zachary Krumholz (Palm Beach, F.L.), and Matt Saiontz (Miami, F.L.) Both Faierman and Krumholz were ranked top 50 in the nation in the summer of 2010 and look to be strong additions to the team.


Report by Courtney Kaplan '13, Yale Sports Publicity