Bulldogs Again on Top in All-Academic and Scholar-Athlete Success

(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)
(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)

Yale Named ITA All-Academic Team for 18th Straight Year, Leads Division I Teams in ITA Scholar-Athlete Honors

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's tennis team has extended its unmatched streak of receiving All-Academic Team honors by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) every year since 1996.  Yale also boasts the highest number of ITA Scholar-Athletes of any Divison I program in the country for the 2012-13 season, with 10 honorees, showing that the team's talents extend beyond the court.

This week's announcement marks the 18th straight year that Yale has earned the distinction of an ITA All-Academic Team, which is an unrivaled record among the country's Division I schools.  Furthermore, since the All-Academic Team distinction was introduced 18 years ago in 1996, Yale is the only Division I program to have received this honor every year it has been awarded.

Several Elis were also recognized as individual scholar-athletes for their strong performance in their studies.  The 10 members of the Yale men's tennis team who were named ITA Scholar Athletes for the 2012-13 season were: Jason Brown, Patrick Chase, Kyle Dawson, Zachary Dean, Daniel Faierman, Daniel Hoffman, John Huang, Zachary Krumholz, Matt Saiontz and Martin Svenning.  With 10 members of the roster receiving recognition, Yale leads the nation's Division I schools in ITA Scholar-Athlete awards.  This is the second year in a row that Yale has accomplished this feat, as the 2011-12 squad also had 10 honorees, which was the highest number of ITA Scholar-Athletes in the nation along with Cornell.  In addition, this year marks the fourth time in 11 years (since the award was opened up to non-seniors) that Yale has had the highest number of ITA Scholar-Athletes among Division I schools. 

With 10 honorees (from a squad of 12 players), Yale leads Division I teams in the nation, including all other seven Ancient Eight schools, for the most number of ITA Scholar-Athletes.  The Ivy League school with the next highest number of players receiving this honor was Dartmouth, with six.

Hoffman, captain for the 2012-13 season, caps his Yale career with his fourth Scholar-Athlete selection.  Hoffman was also one of 10 Yale athletes to receive Academic All-Ivy honors for the 2012-13 spring season.  Fellow alumnus Dean earned his third Scholar-Athlete selection, while Huang earned his second.  Chase received his third selection in as many years on the Yale squad, while Faierman and Krumholz are two-time honorees.  Dawson, captain for the upcoming season, earned his first designation as an ITA Scholar-Athlete, as did Brown, Saiontz and Svenning. 

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).  In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Report by Robert Batista '15, Yale Sports Publicity