Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wai Is Ivy Player Of The Year, Wins ITA Award

Wai Is Ivy Player Of The Year, Wins ITA Award

May 12, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - After a year in which he went 7-0 in Ivy League singles matches at No. 1 and finished the season with 10 straight wins, a 16-3 dual match singles record and an invitation to play in the NCAA Individual Championships at Stanford, Brandon Wai '07 was honored as the Ivy League Player of the Year yesterday by the league.

Wai added to his impressive resume for 2006 the ITA Player to Watch Award for the Northeast Region's NCAA Division I players.

Milosz Gudzowski '06 was the other Bulldog honored by the Ivy League, garnering second-team honors in singles.

Wai, a unanimous choice for Player of the Year, finished the season as the highest ranked Ivy League player, at No. 71. In addition to his stellar 2006 spring season, Wai also won the Northeast Regional Championships in October by beating Mark Barry - Penn State's No. 1 player - in the finals. The win qualified him for the National Indoor Championships.

Also honored by the league yesterday was Gudzowski, who was impressive in his own right this season. He finished the season with a league singles record of 4-3, but thrashed all four of his opponents in straight sets, picking up wins of 6-1, 6-4; 6-3, 6-2; 6-4, 6-1; and 6-2, 6-0.

Report filed by David Sherfinski '08, Yale Sports Publicity

* indicates unanimous selection
*Mark Clemente (Columbia) Soph., Monroe Township, N.J.
*Ashwin Kumar (Harvard) Soph., Round Rock, Texas
*Mikhail Bekker (Penn) Jr., Moscow, Russia
*Jason Pinsky (Penn) Soph., Potomac, Md.
*Brandon Wai (Yale) Jr., San Diego, Calif.
Brett McKeon (Cornell) Sr., Boca Raton, Fla.

*Brown -- Phil Charm (Sr., Concord, Mass.) & Chris Lee (Fr., Sudbury, Mass.)
*Cornell -- Nick Brunner (Jr., Sacramento, Calif.) & Josh Raff (Jr., Haverford, Pa.)
Harvard -- Ashwin Kumar (Soph., Round Rock, Texas) & Sasha Ermakov (Fr., Dallas, Texas)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR *Brandon Wai (Yale) Jr., San Diego, Calif.
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR Jonathan Boym (Penn) Fr., Marlboro, N.J.

Darius Craton (Princeton) Sr., Waterloo, Ont.
Dan Hanegby (Brown) Jr., Herzliya, Israel
Chris Clayton (Harvard) Fr., Fort Lauderdale, Conn.
Jonathan Boym (Penn) Fr., Marlboro, N.J.
Milosz Gudzowski (Yale) Sr., Houston, Texas
Basu Ratnam (Brown) Fr., Oyster Bay, N.Y.
Eric Thomas (Brown) Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio

Columbia -- Jimmy Moore (Sr., Harrison, N.Y.) & Marty Moore (Jr., Harrison, N.Y.)
Brown -- Dan Hanegby (Jr., Herzliya, Israel) & Saurabh Kohli (Soph., Colaba, India)
Harvard -- Scott Denenberg (Jr., Trumbull, Conn.) & Gideon Valkin (Jr., Johannesburg, S.A.)

Josh Raff (Cornell) Jr., Haverford, Pa.
Nick Brunner (Cornell) Jr., Sacramento, Calif.
Jimmy Moore (Columbia) Sr., Harrison, N.Y.

Penn -- Jason Pinsky (Soph., Potomac, Md.) & Joseph Lok (Soph., Los Altos, Calif.)
Dartmouth -- Steve McCaughey (Jr., Des Moines, Iowa) & David Waslen (Jr., Calgary, Alb.)