Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale University to host Wilson/ITA Northeast Regional Championships

Yale University to host Wilson/ITA Northeast Regional Championships

Oct. 14, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Yale University will be hosting the Wilson/Intercollegiate Tennis Association Men's Northeast Regional Championships at the new Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center from October 16-21. The singles finalists and doubles champion from this event will earn spots in the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, November 6-9, hosted by the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Va.

In addition to host Yale University, this event will feature the top players from Division I schools from:

Boston College
Brown University
Bryant University
Drexel University
Duquesne University
Fairfield University
Fairleigh Dickinson
George Washington University
Holy Cross
Lafayette College
Marist College
Monmouth University
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Penn State
Quinnipiac University
Rider University
Sacred Heart University
St. Bonaventure University
St. John's
St. Peters
Stony Brook
Temple University
University at Buffalo
University of Connecticut
University of Delaware
University of Hartford
US Naval Academy

The top singles seeds are:

(1) Chris Clayton of Harvard
(2) Brendan Lynch of Penn State
(3) Peter Capkovic of Princeton
(4) Jonathan Wong of Columbia
(5) Jeff Dawson of Yale
(6) Eddie Bourchier of Penn State
(7) Alex Krueger-Wyman of Princeton.
(8) George Carpeni of Princeton

This week's doubles top seeds are:

(1) Clayton and Chihoff Evans of Harvard
(2) Wong and Borta of Columbia
(3) Doppelt and Goldstein of Cornell
(4) Bourchier and Lee of Penn State
(5) Ermakov and Omodele of Harvard
(6) Capkovic and Vuckovic of Princeton
(7) Lynch and Toole of Penn State
(8) Svetalakov and Kosut of St. Johns

Seventeen Wilson/ITA Regional Championships for NCAA Division I men and women are taking place over these last two weekends of October at campuses throughout the country.

The 2008 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, the nation's premier collegiate indoor tennis tournament, is the second of three national championship events for college tennis this season. The first events - the Riviera/ITA Women's and D'Novo Men's All-American Championships - were held earlier this month, and the third event is season-ending NCAA Championships in May. The ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: qualifiers from these Wilson/ITA Regional Championships held across the country, the ITA National Small College champions, top performers from the ITA All-American Championships and at-large wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 7,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the ITA Regional and National Intercollegiate Championships.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit presented by the USTA, and the ITA Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is

Complete Results

Report Filed by Steven Horn '10, Yale Sports Publicity