Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Awaits WNIT Fate

The Yale women's basketball huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
The Yale women's basketball huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Bulldogs Ready To Embark On First Postseason Trip Since 1979


NEW HAVEN, Conn. — The Yale University women's basketball team knows that it will be one of 31 teams to earn an automatic berth into the WNIT postseason tournament. All that remains is the wait for the WNIT bracket to be revealed.

The field of 64 teams for the WNIT will be revealed late tonight, a few hours after the NCAA Tournament bracket is determined. The NCAA Tournament selection is tonight at 7 p.m. The WNIT field of 64 is expected to be announced sometime after 10 p.m.

Fans of the Bulldogs can keep checking for updates.

Yale earned the Ivy League's automatic bid after finishing the regular season tied with Harvard in the League standings with a 10-4 record. The Bulldogs won the tiebreaker by virtue of sweeping the Crimson in the season series for the first time since the 1993-94 season. The Bulldogs finished 10-4 in Ivy League play for only the second time in their history, matching their Ivy League finish in 1988-89.

Yale has played in a postseason tournament only three times in its 38-year history, in 1977, 1978 and 1979.

The field of 64 will include 31 teams that earned an automatic berth and 33 teams that are chosen for at-large bids.

The WNIT will open with first-round games Wednesday through Friday, March 16-18.

Second-round games will be played Saturday through Monday, March 19-21. Third-round games will be held March 23-25. The WNIT quarterfinals are scheduled to be held March 26-28. The WNIT's Final Four semifinal games will be played on March 30-31, and the WNIT Championship game will be held on April 2. All games in the single-elimination format are played at the main or alternate facilities of participating schools. 

A team that is offered an automatic bid by the WNIT shall be the team that is the highest-finishing team in its conference's regular-season standings and is not selected for the NCAA Tournament. A team that fulfills these qualities will earn the WNIT automatic berth for their respective conference, regardless of overall record.

The remaining 33 berths in the Postseason WNIT will be filled by the best teams available. Any team from a Division I conference, or a Division I independent team, shall be considered. Any team considered for an at-large berth must have an overall record of .500 or better. Overall record includes conference tournament games. 

The following teams have earned automatic bids:

  • Appalachian St. (Southern Conference)
  • Arizona (Pac 10)
  • Boston College (ACC)
  • Butler (Horizon)
  • BYU (Mountain West)
  • Cal Poly (Big West)
  • Denver (Sun Belt)
  • Duquesne (Atlantic 10)
  • Florida Gulf Coast (Atlantic Sun)
  • Illinois St. (Missouri Valley)
  • Kansas (Big 12)
  • Lamar (Southland)
  • Lehigh (Patriot)
  • Liberty (Big South)
  • Loyola-Md. (Metro-Atlantic)
  • Michigan (Big 10)
  • Monomouth NJ (Northeast)
  • Morgan St. (MEAC)
  • Old Dominion (Colonial)
  • Oral Roberts (Summit)
  • Portland St. (Big Sky)
  • Rice (Conference USA)
  • South Carolina (SEC)
  • Southern (SWAC)
  • St. Mary's CA (West Coast)
  • Syracuse (Big East)
  • Tennessee Tech (Ohio Valley)
  • Toledo (MAC)
  • UMBC (America East)
  • Utah State (WAC)
  • Yale (Ivy League)

Report filed by Jon Erickson Jr., Yale Sports Publicity