Caroline Nash elected 2010-11 Captain

Caroline Nash elected 2010-11 Captain

Two-Time Ivy And NCAA Champion

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Caroline Nash, who has been a part of two NCAA champion varsity eights, will serve as the captain of the 2010-11 Yale women's crew. Nash, a Darien, Conn., native, has sat in the varsity eight in each of her first three years with the Bulldogs. She was elected following a team vote earlier this spring.

“Being elected by my teammates is an incredible honor and responsibility, and I'm looking forward to taking on this role next year,” Nash said. “Our team's motto has always been `with each other, for each other' and to lead by that means committing completely, without hesitation, to the team, for the team.”

Nash sat in the No. 4 seat of the varsity eight that captured the NCAA title this spring and also was in the winning NCAA boat in her freshman year. In addition, she has helped the Bulldogs to back-to-back Eastern Sprints and Ivy League championships.

“Caroline is as experienced a captain as we have ever had,” said Yale head coach Will Porter. “She has rowed in our varsity eight for the past three years and has won a lot of big races. She will need to draw upon her experience to lead a very young and talented team next year.”

Nash hopes to use what she learned from the previous captains during her tenure at Yale, including Taylor Ritzel, who served in 2009-10.

“I was lucky enough to come into this program at an incredible point in its history,” Nash said. “The successes we have found as a team these past years are the result of tireless work by an astounding group of women. The three captains I've rowed under each contributed to that legacy in a very different way, and I've learned a lot from each of their styles of leadership. Taylor was a great captain this past year, leading our team by example. She demonstrated a high level of commitment to her teammates and the sport. She, and the rest of our senior class this year, has left us with a powerful legacy on which to build next year.”

In addition to the naming of the captain, the team award winners were also announced. Ritzel was the recipient of the Jenny Kiesling Award. The Nat Case Award was presented to Katherine Adams. Tess Gerrand received the Anne Warner Award and Eliza Hastings won the Chris Ernst Award.

Photo of Caroline Nash by Bob Solorio

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity