Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Varsity Four Remains Undefeated

(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)
(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)

Princeton Retains Possession Of Eisenberg Cup

Complete Results

PRINCETON, N.J. – Yale's varsity four remained undefeated with a narrow victory, but Princeton retained possession of the Eisenberg Cup on Saturday on Lake Carnegie with a varsity eight victory.

The Tigers, ranked seventh nationally, also won the second varsity eight and third varsity eight. Yale, ranked No. 11, captured the second varsity four.

The varsity four was the closest race of the day as the Bulldogs finished just over a second faster than Princeton with a time of 8:07.2.

Princeton won the varsity eight by a little less than three seconds and took the second varsity by almost eight seconds.

"We raced hard today but are just a step behind Princeton right now," said Yale head coach Will Porter.

The Bulldogs will see Princeton again at the Ivy League Championship in May and likely at the NCAA Championships as well.

"We are just at the midpoint of our season," Porter said. "We will get faster before the end. The question is how much faster? We will need some cooperation from Mother Nature."

The Bulldogs return to the Gilder Boathouse to host Harvard next Saturday.

Yale Boatings

Varsity Eight (from the bow):  Madeline Dinse, Maddie Lips, Colleen Maher, Nina Demmerle, Kristina WagnerKim Szokol, Claire Tolson, Abbie Young and coxswain Christine Devlin

Second Varsity Eight (from the bow): Mieke Scherpbier, Natalie Lapides, Brit Sharon, Kristjana Gudmundsson, Madeline Dinse, Kara Freeman, Martha Cosgrove, Lydia Keating and coxswain Kristen Brownlee

Varsity Four (from the bow): Emily Patton, Olivia Maclean, Kate O'Brien, Schuylery Ritchie and coxswain Laura Grimbergen 

Second Varsity Four (from the bow): Regan Considine, Mimi Reichenbach, Sarah Locke, Kendall Chapin and coxswain Sarah Weil.

Third Varsity Eight (from the bow); Mary Farner, Caroline Ostrover, Sabrina Malak, Casey Wizner, Jackie Cloud, Jen Stockwood, Caroline Hart, Amina Edwards, coxswain Emily Cline.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity