Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lienau Elected Captain; Team Awards Announced

Lienau Elected Captain; Team Awards Announced

Bulldogs Coming Off Another Highly Successful Season

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Victoire Lienau, who helped the second varsity eight reach the grand final at the NCAA Championship, will serve as the captain of the 2018-19 Yale women's crew.

"It is a huge honor to have been elected captain by my teammates whom I respect so much," said Lienau, a Paris, France, native. "I am excited for the opportunity to use my determination and passion to lead our team with the ambition of going even faster next season."

Lienau sat in the bow seat of the second varsity eight that was seeded 12th at the NCAA Championship but finished as the sixth fastest in the nation. In addition, she earned a silver medal at the Ivy League Championship, helping the Bulldogs to the team points title.

Lienau hopes to benefit from the tutelage of one of her important role models.

"I have admired and learned from my mother who has been in leadership positions throughout my life," she said. "I also believe that I have a strong decision making instinct and have had a great example set by our previous captain, whose footsteps I hope to follow."

Lienau expects the Bulldogs to be ready for the start of the fall racing season in October. Several Bulldogs will get a head start as part of the crew that is heading to England next week for the Henley regattas.

"The group of us going to Henley have the chance to push our current team further forward, and this racing experience will serve the team well," she said. "For the team as a whole I hope for us to use the summer to gain strength and fitness."

In addition to naming of the captain, the team awards were also recently presented.

The Chris Ernst Award was presented to first year Claire Dirks.

Senior Amy Warner was the recipient of the Anne Warner Award.

The Jenny Kiesling Award went to senior Kate Flanders.

Senior Sophie Deans earned the Nate Case Award.

The Porter-Maloney-Snider Award was presented to senior Anna Heckler.

It was another highly successful season for the Bulldogs, who won team points title at the Ivy League championship and were the highest Ivy finisher at the NCAA Championship for the second straight year.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity