Bulldogs Place 16 on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

Bulldogs Place 16 on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

March 8, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Yale had 16 of the 19 student-athletes on its roster named to the ECAC Hockey League All-Academic team Saturday, including 12 players who were honored for the second consecutive season. The list of honorees includes both seniors, defenseman Ann-Renée Guillemette (North Bay, Ont.) and goalie Shivon Zilis (Markham, Ont.). Also on the list was junior forward Danielle Kozlowski (Melrose, Mass.), who was a finalist for the ECAC Hockey Student-Athlete of the Year award.

Kozlowski and Zilis are two of 12 two-time honorees on the list for Yale. The two-time honorees also include sophomore defenseman Alyssa Clarke (Donkin, N.S.), sophomore defenseman Berit Johnson (Wayzata, Minn.), sophomore forward Caroline Murphy (Woodstock, Conn.), junior forward Carry Resor (Westwood, Mass.), junior defenseman Helen Resor (Greenwich, Conn.), sophomore forward Mandi Schwartz (Wilcox, Sask.), sophomore forward Denise Soesilo (Hamburg, Germany), junior forward Kristen Stupay (Ashburn, Va.), junior forward Sarah Tittman (Chilton, Wisc.) and junior forward Maggie Westfal (New Canaan, Conn.).

Players are eligible for the ECAC Hockey All-Academic team if they earned a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have an average GPA of 3.00 over the past three semesters.

Last year Yale had 19 players honored, seven of whom graduated in the Class of 2007.

The complete list of Yale's honorees:

* also honored in 2006-07

report by Sam Rubin '95 (sam.rubin@yale.edu), Yale Sports Publicity