Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

League-Record 19 Bulldogs Earn ECAC All-Academic Honors

League-Record 19 Bulldogs Earn ECAC All-Academic Honors

March 29, 2007

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The season has been over for more than a month but the Yale women's hockey team is still breaking records. The Bulldogs had 19 players named to the ECAC Hockey League All-Academic team on Thursday, establishing a new high among the conference's 12 schools.

The list of honorees includes five seniors who are three-time honorees: Regan Gilbride, Kelsey Johnson, Nina Resor, Kristin Savard and Jenna Spring. It also includes every member of the Resor family (Carry, Helen and Nina), both Johnson sisters (Berit and Kelsey) and both of Yale's Olympians (Helen Resor and Denise Soesilo).

The Bulldogs had received a number of off-ice honors already this season. Spring earned Academic All-Ivy status and Johnson was a finalist for the ECAC's Student-Athlete of the Year Award. Savard is a finalist for the Hockey Humanitarian Award, with the winner to be announced Apr. 6 at the NCAA men's hockey Frozen Four in St. Louis. As a team, Yale won the ECAC's Turfer Athletic Trophy for sportsmanship.

Players are eligible for the ECAC All-Academic team if they earned a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have an average GPA of 3.00 over the past three semesters.

The complete list of Yale's honorees:

*2005-06 honors
^2004-05 honors

Yale finished the season with a school-record 96 goals, and the Bulldogs'15 wins were second-most in school history. The senior class leaves with more wins (54) than any class in school history.

report by Sam Rubin '95 (, Yale Sports Publicity