Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seniors Honored at Annual Banquet

Seniors Honored at Annual Banquet

April 16, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Yale held its annual women's hockey team banquet Wednesday night at The Course at Yale, saluting both members of the senior class with awards. Captain Ann-Renée Guillemette (North Bay, Ont.) won the Bingham Award, given to a player who provides outstanding team leadership. Goalie Shivon Zilis (Markham, Ont.) won the Most Valuable Player Award.

Guillemette, a defenseman, appeared in 111 games for her career, making her the most experienced player on Yale's roster. Yale's 31st captain, she and Zilis helped the Bulldogs to 53 wins in their four seasons in the Elm City, the second-most by a class in Yale history.

Zilis finished her career as Yale's all-time leader in goals-against average (2.61), besting the 2.68 mark posted by Sarah Love '06. She also had the second-best career save percentage in school history (.913), trailing only All-American Laurie Belliveau '98. She was 11th in the country in save percentage this year (.923) and had a 2.59 goals-against average.

In addition to recognizing the seniors, the letter winners, and Yale's 16 ECAC Hockey All-Academic team selections, several other individual awards were handed out.

Sophomore forward Caroline Murphy (Woodstock, Conn.) won the Blanning Award as the team's most improved player. The hard-working Murphy tripled her point total from the previous season (4-8-12) and was one of the least-penalized players on the team (seven penalties in 31 games).

Junior forward Danielle Kozlowski (Melrose, Mass.) won the Bulldog Award for team spirit. Kozlowski, who was also recognized as a finalist for ECAC Hockey's Student-Athlete of the Year Award, was a key part of Yale's special teams units that ranked eighth in the NCAA in combined efficiency (177 for 323, 54.8 percent). Noted for her shot-blocking ability and selected by her teammates as the toughest player on the team in a mid-season survey, she contributed three goals and four assists. She was also named Academic All-Ivy.

Junior forward Kristen Stupay (Ashburn, Va.) received the Coaches' Award for grit and determination. Stupay had a string of 91 consecutive games played, the longest streak on the team this season. She had two goals and three assists in 29 games.

In addition to the award winners, junior forward Sarah Tittman (Chilton, Wisc.) was introduced as the 2008-09 team captain. Tittman was selected by a team vote last month.

report by Sam Rubin '95 (, Yale Sports Publicity