Rhetta Nadas Elected Captain, Whole Team Chosen as MVP

Rhetta Nadas Elected Captain, Whole Team Chosen as MVP

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's squash team has given out awards for the season, electing junior Rhetta Nadas as the team captain for 2011-12 and voting the whole team in as MVP for the past season.  In addition, freshman Millie Tomlinson won the most improved player award, the Coach's Special Award was given to seniors Caroline Reigeluth and Sarah Toomey, and senior captain Logan Greer won the John A. Blum Prize.

Nadas played the majority of this past season in the No. 5 spot, amassing a 14-2 overall record that included a stellar five-set victory in the national championship match against Harvard that helped turn the tides in Yale's favor. 

"Rhetta won some huge matches for us," said Coach David Talbott, "and is one of the most improved players on the team since entering Yale.  She has learned great leadership skills from this year's captain, Logan Greer, which will serve her well.  All of us are excited about Rhetta being elected captain for the 2011-12 squash season.  Leading the defending National Champions into next season is a tremendous opportunity, and Rhetta is more than up to the task."

She won't be working by herself, as next year's seniors include "a great class of Lexi Van Arkel, Aly Kerr, Kelly Mulrow, and Cat Morris," Talbott said.

Nadas should also get some help from Tomlinson, who finished the season ranked at No. 1 nationally, earning the most improved player award for the Bulldogs.  She entered Yale as the No. 1 U19 player in England, but, especially after losing her first match, could hardly have been expected to be No. 1 in collegiate squash.  However, Tomlinson didn't lose again for the rest of the season, eventually triumphing in the CSA Individual Championships without dropping a single game.

The entire team received the Most Valuable Player award, and truly merited it as Yale improved from a 10-6 record in 2009-10 to an undefeated season and national championship this year. 

The stellar senior class had no small part in that, with Greer, Toomey and Reigeluth all ending their collegiate careers with excellent seasons.  Greer, who earlier in the season won the Richey Award for "the women's college squash player who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of and devotion to the game, her strong sense of fairness, and her excellence of play and leadership", was awarded the John A. Blum Award for "that member of the team who, through character, dedication, and sportsmanship, has made the greatest contribution to Yale women's varsity squash." 

Toomey and Reigeluth shared the Coach's Special Award for "that member of the team whose presence was vital to the spirit of women's squash at Yale." 

All three seniors were absolutely vital to Yale squash this season and for the past three, and will be sorely missed by their teammates and coaches. 

For next season, Nadas will attempt to lead the team to glory again.  Said Coach Talbott:

"The goal is to repeat as National and Ivy Champions, and Rhetta, along with her fellow seniors, are totally focused on achieving those goals.  All of us at Yale Squash are excited as we look forward to the 2011-12 season."

Report by Calvin Bohn '14, Yale Sports Publicity