Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Tomlinson, Mao, Ballaine Advance to Day 2 of Individual Championships

Millie Tomlinson. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Millie Tomlinson. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

PHILADELPHIA Three Yale players survived the first day of the College Squash Association Individual Championships in Philadelphia. 

Senior Millie Tomlinson advanced to the Ramsay Cup quarterfinals, while freshman Shiyuan Mao and sophomore Annie Ballaine moved on to the round of 16.

Tomlinson handled both her opponents with ease, taking 3-0 decisions in her two matches. In the first contest, she faced No. 31 Sachika Balvani of Trinity before defeating Penn's Heidi Lala, seed No. 14, in the round of 16.

Tomlinson's opponent in the quarterfinal will be Cornell junior Danielle Letourneau, seeded No. 6. Letourneau dispatched her first two opponents by scores of 3-0 and 3-1. When the two met during the regular season on Jan. 12, Tomlinson earned a 3-0 victory. 

Senior Kim Hay justified her No. 10 seeding with a first round win over the No. 25 seed, Bates' Nessrine Ariffin. However, she faced a tough matchup in the second round, falling to No. 7 Catalina Pelaez of Trinity. 

No. 16 Shihui Mao came up short against No. 17 Anna Porras, also of Trinity. As the seedings would indicate, the showdown between the two was the closest match of the day. Mao evened the match at 2-2 after facing a 2-0 deficit, but could not find a win in the fifth and deciding game. 

Junior Issey Norman-Ross and freshman Jenny Scherl both lost their opening round matches against higher seeds. After winning their first round consolation matches, the two will face each other tomorrow in the consolation bracket. 

Ballaine and Shiyuan Mao, Yale's representatives in the Holleran division, each notched 3-0 victories. If both win their first games tomorrow, they will meet in the quarterfinals. 

The Holleran Cup round of 16 will begin early Saturday morning, while Tomlinson's quarterfinal match will take place at 1:30 p.m. 

Report by Evan Brown '16, Yale Sports Publicity