Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Year in Review: No. 44 Yale Finishes Season 16-6

Sarah Lederhandler. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Sarah Lederhandler. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – No. 44 Yale finished its 2010 season with a 16-6 record and a 5-2 record in the Ivy League to finish third in the Ivy standings. 

Yale won the ECAC Championships and peaked with an ITA national ranking of No. 24, Yale's highest ranking ever.  The Bulldogs won matches over six ranked opponents during the season. 

All six of Yale's loses came against highly ranked opponents, including at No. 1 Duke on Jan. 30.  Yale's wins over ranked opponents included wins against No. 61 Boston University, No. 39 Wake Forest, No. 62 Harvard, No. 32 William & Mary, No. 53 Dartmouth and No. 58 Brown. 

Yale's ECAC Championship victory was impressive, with seven out of eight Ivy League teams competing in the tournament.  The Bulldogs defeated Boston University 6-1 in the first round.  Yale then rolled to a 6-1 victory over Harvard in the semifinals.  The Bulldogs shut Dartmouth out 4-0 to clinch the tournament victory. 

Individually, Yale players excelled during the season as well.  During the fall, three members of the team participated in the ITA National Indoor Championships hosted at Yale's Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center.  Sophomore Stephanie Kent pushed her opponent to her limits when she lost a three-setter to the No. 8 seeded player in the tournament.  Kent won a consolation match over Auburn's Fani Chifchieva.  Senior Jessica Rhee also participated in the singles draw, and sophomore Vicky Brook teamed up with Kent to play in the doubles draw. 

Brook earned a unanimous first team All-Ivy singles selection after posting a 17-4 spring record and a 5-1 record in the Ivy League.  Rhee earned a second team All-Ivy singles selection with a 6-1 Ivy League record.  Brook and junior Lindsay Clark were named second team All-Ivy Doubles. 

Stevi Petrelli, a rising senior from Harrison, N.Y., was elected to succeed Sarah Lederhandler as captain next year. 

Report Filed by Steven Horn '10, Yale Sports Publicity