Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Bulldogs to Compete at NCAA First Rounds

Annelies Gamble and Kate Grace. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Annelies Gamble and Kate Grace. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Preliminary Qualifying for NCAA National Championship

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The competitors for the NCAA First Rounds were announced today, and four Bulldogs were named to the list for the East Preliminary. They will compete in three events at Indiana University in Bloomington, Ind., from May 26-28. The top 48 athletes from the East region were chosen to compete in each track event.

All-American senior Kate Grace and sophomore Annelies Gamble will compete in the 800-meter run. The first round will take place at 7:30 p.m. on the 26th, with the top three from each of six heats plus the next six fastest advancing to the national quarterfinal at 6:30 p.m. on the 27th. Grace has the 10th-fastest seed time in the meet in 2:05.48, just a second slower than the fastest. Gamble has the 45th-fastest time, 2:08.91. All qualifying times were under 2:10.

Sophomore Nihal Kayali will compete in the 1,500-meter run. She is seeded as the 21st-fastest athlete in the event in 4:21.98, thanks to her second-place performance at ECACs last weekend. Her first race in the meet will occur at 4:30 p.m. on the 26th. The top five from each of four heats plus the next four fastest will advance to the national semi-final on the 28th at 6:30 p.m.

Sophomore Elizabeth Marvin will compete in the 5,000-meter run. Her time of 16:37.04 is the 42nd-fastest of the competitors. The race will occur at 8:05 p.m. on the 28th, with the top five from each of two heats advancing to the National Championship.

The West Preliminary will be held on the same days at the University of Oregon. Runners who advance from each preliminary will compete from June 8-11 at Des Moines, Iowa, in the National Championship. The official meet website contains live results as well as live video.

Report by Natalie Villa '13, Yale Sports Publicity